We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, HUGE portions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocky River Grill

Rocky River Grill
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Invermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“OK food, HUGE portions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is your average pub grub fair. Its a good place to eat but beware, the food portions are HUGE. So, you may want to ask about portion size you consider sharing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PracticalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    70
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“slow but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

in town for the weekend and were told to come to this place to eat. it was really worth the recommendation as the food was quite good. didn't matter what, we all tried each other's plates and all was tasty. service was a bit slow for how few people there were in the restaurant but the food made up for it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwrMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
189 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“An hour wait for bad food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate here because our hotel ( not the Super 8) front desk recommended it for families. The place was crowded, noisy and understaffed. We were a party of seven, including five kids, who were starving. I order a spinach salad and mentioned that I have a nut allergy. The salad described on the menu came with pumpkin seeds, which I love and was looking forward to eating.

We waited almost a hour for our food. The waitress kept coming out to apologize for the wait and assure us it was coming soon. This did not help, as it took another 20 minutes after she raised our expectations. My son watched several tables how had arrived after us being served first. Bizarre.

When it finally arrived, my salad was devoid of pumpkin seeds, even though I had explained I can eat them. My daughter's ice tea tasted bad enough that she sent it back. My son's Caesar salad was very greasy.

Rocky River stole two hours of our lives that we will never get back. Do not bother with this place. Brutal!

Helpful?
Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very good for families with children, good food for adults and kids menu sizes, reasonable prices.
Huge fish tank kids were amazed, but I think it need more maintenance to make it outstanding interior feature.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service, won't go back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've eaten here the past 2 years while attending the radium car show. We eat here in the middle of the afternoon as restaurants can get quite busy. While the food is fairly good and we like sitting on the patio, the service this past September was terrible. As soon as the person we presume is the manager (he was there the year before too and service nose-dived when he arrived) showed up she spent all her time chatting with him and when we reminded her twice before she came to get our orders, she had the nerve to tell us she had other tables inside, even though we could see she had been talking to the manager for 20 minutes when we waited 25 minutes to even order drinks. For that comment she didn't receive any tips.

Even when we went to the till to pay after waiting and waiting and never receiving our bill, the other waitresses waited for ours to come after she acknowledged we were there but they eventually gave up and rang us through themselves, and our waitress came along at the end. Not apologetic or anything, and she was still talking to the same guy. The food is decent but unreliable service ensures that I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trumbley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky River Grill also viewed

Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
 
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
 
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rocky River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing