We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, hearty no frills food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coldwater Cafe

Coldwater Cafe
Ranked #19 of 43 Restaurants in Merritt
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great, hearty no frills food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by here on a road trip. The value is excellent, the food was hearty and delicious, and the service was friendly. It was quite busy for 1:30 on a Monday afternoon.
They used quality ingredients in the food- it really tasted home-cooked, in the good way.
The decor was dated, but what do you want in an older hotel in a small town. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank jasperspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Breakfast for large group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had booked a buffet for a large group on a Sunday morning. They gave us a banquet room at the back. It was very nicely laid out, Service was excellent and the food was wonderful. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo4470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
644 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Very good diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good. My only complaint with the food, albeit minor, is the vegetables were frozen.

Service was fast & friendly. It was busy even before the lunch hour but our harried waitress was on top of things.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Family Meals in an Historic Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently revisited the Coldwater Hotel on a trip to visit our son and his family in Merritt, BC. Dinner for five of us was under $60 and was quite enjoyable. There is quite a variety of home cooked meals ranging from Salisbury Steak, Fajitas, Chef Salad, Butter Chicken, etc. Generous portions in an historic atmosphere make for a great time with good food. Make sure to visit the bar with its old brass rails and 18th century appearance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.c.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best omelet ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stopped in Merritt many times and have had breakfast/lunch at this restaurant and have never been disappointed. Last time we were there I was served the very best omelet ever.
Excellent value and top notch food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob123cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coldwater Cafe also viewed

Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 
Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 
Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 

Been to Coldwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing