We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brambles Bakery & Cafe

Brambles Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Merritt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stopped in on our way over the Colquihalla for a quick bite to eat. Nice little cafe with good atmosphere. We had sandwiches which were very tasty and made with good quality ingredients although at $9 each for two slices of bread with a filling I thought was a little pricey, but I'd probably go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscoClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been going in for lunch for the past few months. The food is always fantastic. Everything is home made on site, fresh and healthy. I highly recommend the fresh breads and soups.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NelsonNelsonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Brambles is a lovely bakery. They also provide specialty coffee, lunches, great soups, and a variety of treats. There coffee, including cappuccino's, espresso, latte's is made to your specific needs and tastes. The lunches are diverse and change every day. You have many options, including vegan. They always have great soups made from scratch. There is more than one choice, too! The treats and sweets are diverse and delicious.

The customer service is great. A nice place to eat, meet, and enjoy a good space

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCycleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Thank goodness for Brambles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pleasantly surprised to find this gem in Merritt after our car needed servicing and we were stuck for the day. Fresh tasty food, healthy, gluten free options!!, veggie options, quality tea & coffee, nice atmosphere, friendly service, and to top it off a little kids play area.
It's hard to find quality healthy food on the road, thank goodness for this place!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miigwetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Downtown Merritt's Most Amazing Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Yes. Take the exit to Downtown Merritt and enjoy this fabulous eatery featuring stupendously delicious home made soups, sandwiches that will stun you, and desserts to swoon over.

Brambles is on Quilchena, which the locals refer to as the "main street' - I was shopping the local farmer's market and asked for the best place to eat in town. Thank you, lady herb farmer!

I had the mushroom and leek soup with half "meat" sandwich for $9.50 (Cdn). Oh man, the richness of the mushroon broth was heavenly. Big chunks of 'shroos and lots of finely sliced leeks made this soup a total standout. But wait...I chose the grilled chicken as the meat and was served a huge chunk of beautifully grilled bird breast. Big tasty slices of artichoke and a fabulous sauce made this daily special the best mid day meal of the week!

The coffee was so tasty that I just had to order a butter tart to go with it. The bt is of the drier type, not the gooey one, but wondrously tasty with a beautiful flaky pastry. Buy some for the road!

I will try the maple pecan cheesecake next time!

Truly a family restaurant with high chairs and a play kitchen stocked with books and toys for the youngsters.

Folks, you must stop here. It's a good mid day break while driving through the Thompson Okanagan. I give it top marks because the lady farmer who grows goji berries and the spices for curry knows her stuff. Plus I spotted a local, but very famous, poet coming in for take out.

Lots of free parking on the street and located near the Walk of Stars. Five minutes from the indoor swimming pool!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vancouvermuffy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brambles Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 
Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 
Merritt, British Columbia
 

Been to Brambles Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing