We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Excellent experience...A gem

Friendly staff that know a lot about the area. The property itself is a heritage building with an... read more

Reviewed March 15, 2019
Maps224536
Great place for local info

They have great information about the area and serve up really great ice cream cones. Friendly... read more

Reviewed January 22, 2019
scooter9
,
merritt
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
42
11
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
11
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale cookies interesting history friendly staff visitor information great ice cream fast food great place house property summer rachel books bc centre valley backyard
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 54 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

We dropped in to get a map of the area and what a delightful surprise we got! All of the staff were helpful and polite and then we were told that we could take a tour of the Baillie House. What? We didn't even know there was a Baillie House! We ended up going on a 'hands on' tour with Rachel. She was knowledgeable, personable and funny. She brought the house back to life - thank you Rachel! We'll definitely be back when we're in the area. Cindy/Gary McKay. Canmore, Alberta

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Cycled into town and the rain started to come down pretty hard so we wandered to the visiter centre where we met Rachel. She was so helpful and then took us an amazing tour of the Baillie House! She was so much fun and so knowledgeable. She shared with us all the history pointed out neat things in the house and made it so much fun! We stayed in the house for so long laughing and learning so much from Rachel! Thanks again Rachel and it was definitely a highlight getting the tour from you!!! And thanks for the tips of where to have dinner it was a great pick! Oh - and the geocache info and walking tours!!! You are the best!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Tippie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

I love this place! Aside from visitor information like maps and brochures, the passionate staff are super helpful about what to see and do in Merritt and in the surrounding area. I could hang out in the backyard for hours in the summer. Make sure you go on one of the tours of the house in the summer. Added bonus of some really cool collectables which are for sale. Well done!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Merritt Tourist Centre is located in the historic Baillie House. Excellent source of information, local and provincial. Staff live in Merritt and are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Interesting items available for sale.
Tours conduvpcted through the historic home on the property.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank D6513JErichardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Your typical museum but I thought there would have been more historic photos. I found there was a little too much crafts from local people. Don't get me wrong, I love seeing local crafts but there was not a lot of actual history. Still a good place to see.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews