We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merritt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Valley Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Merritt
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived in Merritt without a reservation on the same weekend the Harley Davidson crew was in town, and were happy to find a quiet motel away from all the action. This appears to be a family-run business, likely a recent takeover of an older motel. They have started updating the motel: new siding, windows, paint, newer beds, big screen TV's, updates to the bathrooms, etc. The room we were in (#17) still had older carpets, quaint light fixtures and a noisy in-wall air conditioner. However, everything in the room was spotlessly clean and in good working order. The beds were very comfortable and the price was good. The only long-term problem they're going to face is what to do with the noisy pipes - especially when the neighbour is having a shower! We felt the property showed a lot of pride of ownership and we were very comfortable there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

The title pretty much says it all. The motel seems to cater to working people travelling on business. Construction workers or contractors like myself - a family run motel that provides the extra smile and service only people with a vested interest in a business tend to offer.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper room 17 is tucked away from even the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

... if we had read the previous reviews ..
either they are
upset customers for private/personal reasons having nothing to do with motel,
amateur travelers or liars (competitors )..

BUT GLADLY I didn't read those comments
that place does not deserve those ..
the receptionist answered our questions , showed us the room ,
provided the Wifi Password making sure it would work ..

this place is :very clean .newly renovated .
Quiet and Cheap 70 $Cad Net for a Double ...

Located middle of Downtown with Parking lot
Provided HIgh Speed Wifi
LG Flat Screen TV . Movie Channel
In Room Coffee Maker.
Fridge ...

A good place for a NIght Break if on your way from Jasper to Vancouver

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 05toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Unfortunately we fell prey to a well crafted website and coupon promotion. We don't mind giving a place a chance but this is definitely "traveller" beware. Short of your vehicle breaking down on a dark and stormy night and there being no other accommodation within 100km then by all means stay here. The owners are friendly enough and I am sure will be more than happy to point you in the direction of the local mechanic. Otherwise don't be fooled by the term "resort" this is a 1970's motor inn which appears to be in various stages of haphazard restoration of no specific urgency or theme. As one of the other reviews indicated the plumbing left something to be desired, indeed. The visible clutter (brooms, shovels, bed frames,boxes, furniture, old motorcycle ect al) was also disturbing and unacceptable in light of the facility being marketed as a "resort"! Like with most places the potential is there (just not right now) and it seems our only "resort" is to write this review for future travellers to the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinker_Tailor1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Wow, it sure has been a long time since i stayed in a place like this. 1970 rings a bell. The Copper Valley Motel is a very mediocre place to stay. They advertised Plasma TV, Newly renovated, new decor. There's nothing new about this place. The Plasma is a LCD, the furnishings look like they've been used for decades, the bathroom sink is 20 year old marble that's all cracked and it looks quite dirty. Cheesy lamps from the 70's. I feel very itchy sleeping on the bed. Ewww! But there is an upside, the lovely bouquet of fresh plastic flowers from the dollar store added to the ambiance of the place, it really takes the place to a whole new level. The internet works as i am sitting in their room right now using their internet to write this review. The place is very noisy, pipes banging and screeching away while you sleep, the fridge makes this awful very loud noise. The sign on the door says they sell sleep and we should keep the noise down so we don't disturb people. Haha! What a load of crap! $60 for the night ain't bad. But i think i would pass by this place next time i need a place to stay in Merrit. False advertising will get you nowhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viandgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

the place has been improved.I found the room clean and very acceptable for the price..the new manger was pleasent and accommodating

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I secured a room, in the fall of 2009, for my handicapped daughter on a permanent basis, on month to month tenancy, with 1/2 of one months rent. In February the owner gave my daughter notice to make room for daily business. When questioned about his actions, he was evasive and would only say this was to the betterment of his business.
When questioned about his agreement for long term tenancy, he said this was not the agreement he understood. When questioned about him accepting the 1/2 of months rent, consistent to a residential tenancy, he could not answer.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tymofievich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merritt hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Merritt
Ramada Limited Merritt
#7 of 13 in Merritt
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Merritt
Knights Inn Merritt
#3 of 13 in Merritt
125 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn Merritt
Quality Inn Merritt
#4 of 13 in Merritt
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Merritt BC
Super 8 Merritt BC
#6 of 13 in Merritt
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Merritt
Travelodge Merritt
#10 of 13 in Merritt
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ranchland Villa Motel
Ranchland Villa Motel
#9 of 13 in Merritt
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Valley Motel

Address: 2276 Nicola St., Merritt, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Merritt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Merritt
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing