We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boat tour ever!!”

Fraser River Safari
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was with a group from Toronto touring Harrison Mills during for the FVBEF Nov 15 and 16, 2013. We had boat tours with FRS both days and both trips were spectacular!!! Rob and Jo-Anne are expert tour operators and the boat is fabulous! Heated, comfy, protected from the elements, with lots glass for perfect viewing! It was awesome to get so close to these majestic birds! We were so lucky to get a booking with FRS!! Thanks for the great weekend, the expert commentary, the fun and and the thrilling 360 at the end!!

Thank MargandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserRiverSafari, Owner at Fraser River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

We had so much fun with your group and look forward to seeing you all in 2014! Thank you for your encouragement and giving us another reason to keep working hard. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I went to the Fraser Valley Bald Eagle Festival and was on one of the Fraser River Safari tours. The people who took us out were very friendly and the eagles? Oh the eagles! We probably saw 2000 eagles and this is early in the season. David Hancock was on the trip and told us all about the area and besides the eagles we saw a lot of salmon, gulls and crows. But really, it was about the eagles!

Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserRiverSafari, Owner at Fraser River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiasm and for the mention of our dear friend, David Hancock. The Hancock Wildlife Foundation works tirelessly to promote the Harrison and the greatest gathering of eagles anywhere in the world :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice folks run the tour. Very personable. On time departure, lots of good local knowledge. Got to observe the landing of a very large Sturgeon fish. Spend a hour at Kirby, just the right amount of time. Very enjoyable. I would recommend it.

Thank Portmoodytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took the Fraser River Safari tour from Kilby on Harrison Bay to see the eagles which were feeding on the salmon that had finished spawning. The day started out overcast and cool as it had snowed the evening before. However, as our trip started the clouds lifted and the viewing conditions became perfect. Wow, we couldn't believe the number of eagles we saw as we travelled up the Harrison River to the Chehalis flats. It is no exageration to say that we saw thousands of birds on the banks of the river and up in the trees. Amazing and breathtaking is all I can say! Our tour guide did a wonderful job of bringing the boat as close to the birds as possible so all on board were able to get some great photographs. We had a great couple of hours out after which we had a lunch at the Kilby store to make a great finish to our outing. We enjoyed this trip so much we are coming back again this November.

1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have been on 3 separate outings with the Fraser River Safari now. Two company outings & 1 community group outing. This last time (June 4th/11) was by far the BEST WEATHER of all 3.

The Boat – Is comfortable, enclosed (W/Sliding windows & ALL windows are crystal clean), heated (If required), seats approx 20, spotless, stable & SAFE! The craft was designed to travel typical “River type waterways” & incorporates twin 300HP supercharged diesels that provide smooth powerful handling. At certain calm spots in the river Capt’n Rob (As I call him) will glide the boat back & forth & gives you the feeling of “Flying.”

The Crew – Is Rob (Capt’n Rob) & Jo-Anne Chadwick. Both love what they do & it shows. They are passionate about the “River” & the wildlife. They live at the waterfront & spend most of their time on or around the river.

Our Tour – We met at the waterfront at the Mission Harbour and boarded the boat & cruised up river to the Kilby Historic Site in Harrison Mills. Slowing down at certain spots of interest with Jo-Anne or Rob describing or explaining, as well as including many photo ops of local wildlife. We saw many eagles & ospreys. It’s a totally different perspective of the beauty of the landscape from the river and is one I never tire of.
Once at the Kilby park boat launch, we disembarked & walked the short distance to the Kilby Historic Site, (http://www.kilby.ca). I won’t go into detail here because that should be a separate review. I will say that is a nice addition to the boat tour, & there is a restaurant, a souvenir/general store where you can get an lunch, snack, gifts, crafts, HOME MADE FUDGE (Yummy!) or even an ice cream cone. There’s also the Kilby Museum for the “History Buffs” & the Farm with all the typical animals there as well.
During certain times of the year the “Christmas Cottage” that you walk past on the way from the boat to the Kilby Historic Site is also open. A quaint, cute little shop that has decorations & knick knacks of all things Christmas.
November is also a good time to go, LOTS of eagles on the river, can get some nice weather, & the Christmas Cottage is generally open….

In summation, a wonderful, educational, & relaxing outing for an afternoon. The Fraser River Safari is also a great “Team Building” activity for companies & various groups. Highly recommended.

Thank BC_IT_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraser River Safari also viewed

Mission, British Columbia
 
Mission, British Columbia
Mission, British Columbia
 

Been to Fraser River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing