We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My fave place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max & Irma's Kitchen

Max & Irma's Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 94 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My fave place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, lunch specials, love the sandwiches, salads, dressings, a full belly after, excellent service, a great place to eat, helpfull, caring staff, great flavours, one of the best places in nelson

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    50
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OMG Mushrooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just fancied a change from rich meats and steaks so asked for a pitza recommend at the hotel we were staying at and they recommended max and irmas. My husband and I were not very hungry so shared the stuffed mushroom starter.....we were so close to ordering a second helping. Very rich but just to die for, went well with our bottle of red wine. We also shared a pitza which was equally as wonderful. Sooo tasty, ingredients were fresh and flavourful...only regret.....just wish we could have eaten more. My husband finished off with a khalua and grand mariner coffee and the smile on his face just said it all. Waitress was really nice, very helpful even to a point where she helped us name a song which we had been struggling with all day. They had a guitarist on, it was a Friday night, and he was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We've been visiting Max and Irma's on our visits to Nelson for 17 years now. Its become an old favourite. The room is a good size and especially when its nice enough to sit outside there is lots of room. Varied menu - always something new but some dishes are better than others. Reasonable prices. My only quibble is that the serving staff don't pay much attention to their personal appearance. Even if it is Nelson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The building is an old funeral parlor. We thought the place should have been called Food To Die For, but they didn't take our idea.

The specials can be pretty good. The regular menu has some nice items.

Food prep is inconsistent. Service is inconsistent. I think one of the food servers never changes her clothes or combs her hair and, though pleasant, is quite scattered. But, then this IS Nelson.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Look for it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is off main street by half a block but right in the Heritage area. Worth the extra walk for a great meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marmist454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Irma's Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Max & Irma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing