We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B on the beach, but also in the mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Point Beach House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Point Beach House B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B on the beach, but also in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely relaxing place to stay. A comfortable suite, with our own deck area, looking out over the private sandy beach on Kootenay lake. We really enjoyed our 3 days at Willow Point whilst touring around The Rockies. Maureen served us delicious breakfasts on the deck each morning, and gave us a lot of useful info on places to visit etc. As it was, we made sure we got back early each day to relax and enjoy the beach and its facilities. Many thanks for being such great hosts. From Paul & Aileen Bagshaw, Derby, England.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved our stay here, beautiful location, clean new cozy suite, good good food and most of all Len and Maureen are open, caring, inviting hosts. We stayed several days and it was so nice just to sit by the lake and enjoy the sunset or have coffee in the morning and listen to all the birds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay – and especially with children! I’ve just returned from a week there, with my daughter and two grandchildren aged 4 and nearly 7, and we loved every moment.

The setting is gorgeous, with the covered deck overlooking a private sandy beach, and beyond the view of Kootenay Lake, and a paddle boat and canoe for us to use. The garden is bright with flowers, trees and interesting ornaments – and an osprey’s nest. Our hosts, Maureen and Len Crawford, did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and relaxed. The breakfast was superb, and beautifully set out. Maureen made the kids Mickey Mouse pancakes, and special eggs. It was nice having the use of a frig and stove too for our casual suppers. The suite was spotless and cheerful, and was fine for the four of us. They have another adjoining suite so a larger family could rent both.

Maureen and Len were so welcoming to the children who had extra fun with their attention. On our last evening, we all gathered round a beach fireplace and toasted marshmallows. The kids kept saying they didn’t want to leave!

The location is excellent – about 10 mins from Nelson (a very pleasant town and the kids enjoyed the tram), and convenient for hiking, mountains, ferries, artisans, hot springs, parks, an interpretative centre, and other excursions.

We can strongly recommend this B & B – for families, couples and singles. We found it online, and followed up by e-mail and phone. If booking, it is best to contact the hosts directly, and not go through an agency.

Thanks, Maureen and Len. You gave us a holiday to remember!

Room Tip: Both suites, Moose and Bear, are identical - with covered decks overlooking the lake. Maybe Bear ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a wonderful Bed & Breakfast! I stayed here while visiting my daughter for Easter. I had a such a beautiful drive to Nelson and then I arrive at this amazing Bed and Breakfast and wonder how things could get any better!! I am greeted by Maureen, who is such a lovely lady. Maureen shows me to "The Bear Suite" and it is so cozy. Not only is the suite cozy and inviting, but so is the deck with the AMAZING view! They also have an amazing beach area. Definitely one of the best beaches in the area! The kitchen was great to have as well. Maureen had fresh cream in the fridge ready for your tea or coffee, which was also supplied. I had such a fun and relaxing stay. Lots of walks in the warm sunshine with my daughter and then a comfy nights sleep in my suite.

Maureen, Len, and their daughter Dawn are wonderful people and it was an absolute pleasure to meet them and stay at such a welcoming B&B.

Thanks Maureen! I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Each suite is the same, so you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okanagangang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

What an excellent B&B Maureen puts on!
The setting on Kootenay Lake inlet into Nelson, BC is just gorgeous!
Not to mention some of the best home cooking I've had for quite a while.
I stayed on a business trip for 2 nights, and even though I called the afternoon of the day I wanted to check in, she had it all ready for me to come in.
Thanks for the great stay! I'll recommend to all my groups and anyone else.
Will be staying here again for sure : )

Room Tip: No swimming "pool" but you wallk out onto the beach with Kootenay Lake right there. Couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 8 glorious days there in September and loved everything about it. The apartment was roomy and comfortable, and having the kitchen made it great for cooking at home if you want to, The views (day and night) are gorgeous, and I've never seen so many stars in my life. If you want to just hang at the beach a day or two, you caan do that as well, We enjoyed coming home in the afternoon after a busy day hiking and just lying by the lake relaxing till dinner. We didn't get to experience the "breakfast" part of the B&B as we opted out of it, but it would have been great to sit on the porch, eat breakfast and watch the sun rise over the mountain and lake. We're from south Florida, so we probably want be back, but I highly recommend this little gem, and this beautiful area of BC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorpt1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a three day holiday at the Willow Point Beach House just outside Nelson. Would strongly recommend it! The accommodation consists of two nearly identical units side by side, that had everything we needed including a small kitchen. The decor was warm, inviting, and homey. The arrangement worked extremely well for a visit with some close friends of ours who rented the second unit. The large deck, overlooking the lake and a gorgeous, sandy beach, was the perfect place to sit in the evening and drink some wine while enjoying the view. The breeze from the lake and the abundance of windows resulted in a comfortable temperature at all times.

We would like to thank our gracious hosts, Maureen and Len, who made us feel very welcome, and made our holiday all that much more enjoyable. I particularly appreciated the attention to detail in the unit, with some coffee available, cream in the fridge, a hair dryer, extra blanket, etc. The breakfasts were both delicious and substantial. Particularly enjoyed the eggs benedict and fresh fruit.

Maureen, who originally comes from Yorkshire, even took the time to provide me some information for the trip to England we are planning for next year. She also was knowledgeable about the restaurants and activities available in Nelson.

Being outside Nelson meant for a quiet, scenic setting, more than compensating for the short drive in and out of town. Guests also have access to comfortable lawn chairs with umbrellas set up on the private beach. We had a refreshing swim in the very clean lake water, a contrast to the less pristine waters found off the town beach.

We were very pleased with our stay and plan to be back.

Room Tip: The two units available are almost identical. Either one would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chancer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
5.5 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Point Beach House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Point Beach House B&B

Property: Willow Point Beach House B&B
Address: 2340 Hwy 3A, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Hotel Class:3 star — Willow Point Beach House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing