We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hume Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Inn Nelson(Nelson)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn and Suites(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kokanee Glacier Resort(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloudside Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adventure Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$115
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveler rating
464
197
51
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
197
51
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary loungethe pubgeneral storemike's placefourth floorspirit barhistoric hotellive jazzbreakfast was includedmodern amenitieshot breakfastold buildingroom ratelimited parkingwonderful hotelin townfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 745 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Hume during the May long weekend, despite the fact that the Hume is currently undergoing renovations to its third floor. Despite this fact, and that the elevator was out of commission (apparently it's the oldest elevator in BC!) I give my review a solid four stars for the level of service and value for your money. The only reason I deducted a star was for the fact we were staying on the floor that was being renovated, so it wasn't much to look at. When it's done it'll be simply amazing. However, we didn't hear a single peep from construction crews or power equipment at all during our stay! The front desk staff were nothing but helpful and despite the fact the elevator wasn't working, room service still steadfastly carried our dinner up three flights of stairs to deliver.
Further, for each night stayed, you get a complimentary breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, and it's much more than just continental. I'm talking bacon, eggs, hashbrowns, the whole nine yards. Plus, there's a pub and a liquor store right in the building as well!
If you want to stay in a beautiful heritage building right in the middle of downtown Nelson with the friendliest staff and really great food, look no further than the Hume!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I wrote the review a tad earlier but it is on an account with an old email, so have rewritten it below. In case someone wonders why there might be two similar recollections.

We chose Nelson as a mid trip overnight stay,allowing us to reflect on memories from living there in the 70s. We chose the Hume because of those memories and were not disappointed.
The three floors in the pub were similar to when we patronized the bar in our other life.
The upgraded rooms were a pleasant surprise and we enjoyed a corner suite, on the third floor, looking up the lake.
It is a downtown hotel and could be a tad noisy on the weekend, but this is to be expected and if you have an upgraded room - you have AC and do not need the windows open.
Staff is positive and professional.
The breakfast is included and this is a full hot meal..
Would recommend the property and will stay there again

Room Tip: an upgraded room on the third or fourth floor - across the street from the old courthouse and looking down hte lake
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I needed a mid trip overnight stop and decided on Nelson, having lived there in the 70s. We checked the internet for lodgings and settled on the Hume for memory purposes. It was a great decision and we checked into one of the upgraded rooms on the third floor, the corner suite with a terrific view up the lake. Others have talked about the 4th floor being a good choice, this was on the 3rd floor and we would recommend it.
The room was clean and modern. I was told at check in to expect some noise from the nightclub when it emptied. We already expected this because of the location and style of the property so were prepared. There was some minor noise but nothing out of the ordinary. With the upgraded rooms having a quiet AC it is ok to close the windows looking onto the street.
Staff was positive and professional and the stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room facing the old courthouse and lake
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After not being to the Hume since Christmas, we decided on our anniversary to make a quick trip over the mountain from Creston to have lunch. The staff greeted us warmly and Kim looked after our every need always with a beautiful smile on her face. We were not disappointed as the food was as delicious as we expected and brought to the table piping hot - would certainly order their Tuscan melt again - Yum. Richard even made a good water glass pourer.lol! Thanks to everyone at the Hume for giving us a nice Saturday afternoon experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank mcmccreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the new renovated rooms are wonderful and clean. the staff was great and the hotel has a unique heritage feel with everything needed for an over night stay. you are so close to all the action in Nelson and the live music in the lounge is calming.

Room Tip: top floor facing the water
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews