We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Tasteful Renovations”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coquitlam, BC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Truly Tasteful Renovations”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Several years ago, my husband and I stayed at the Hume Hotel at the suggestion of a work colleague and we were not disappointed. The Hume Hotel is a heritage hotel and we appreciated the vintage nature of the hotel and its furnishings. Very recently, we payed a return visit to Nelson and the Hume Hotel which, we discovered, was in the midst of what seems to be major renovations. We stayed on the fourth floor, where all of the rooms have been renovated, and, despite our appreciation for heritage buildings and furnishings, very much enjoyed both the room and our stay in it. I can honestly say that, of all of the hotels that we have stayed in anywhere, this is one of THE most attractive. Whoever designed the renovations is to be commended as they encompass both good taste and an appreciation of times past. Added to the attractiveness of the hotel is the fact that it is centrally located in Nelson, a very attractive and vibrant mountain community, and that your stay includes a very good hot breakfast. For those who love heritage, I would enquire about heritage rooms which I think might still be available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for the very positive review. We are extremely happy with the way our newly renovated rooms have turned out.. It has been a careful balance of maintaining our heritage integrity while implementing some modern technology that guests expect in today's world. We have been very pleased with local designer, David Dobie, who has been instrumental in achieving this overall look and feel. The rooms have completely enhanced the guest experience.

Thanks for helping to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    181
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
106
314
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chattaroy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything was great until 9.00pm on a saturday night.The noise was unbearable due to a event that was going on downstairs on april 13th.We happen to be on the second floor that was a big mistake.we will never stay on a weekend night again.But the staff was great and the food was good.

Room Tip: Dont stay when their is a hip hop event going on.And dont stay on the second floor,fourth would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed in the newly renovated rooms on the top floor. The upgrade look great and still maintained the charm of this heritage building. The library is a nice place for a drink and snack, but it's too bad they have a club in the basement. Fortunately we didn't hear any noise, it just seems to take away a bit from the atmosphere. But, it probably helps them stay in business and I would hate to see Nelson loose this beautiful building!

Room Tip: Top floor renovations are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateB873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a 3 night stay on the newly renovated 4th floor of the Hume and it was lovely! The beds and pillows were a personal highlight while the room just had that "fresh" feeling! The 3rd floor was currently under construction so I can only imagine that will be as nice as the 4th upon our return!

And as usual the staff in the entire hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful... especially Nadine & Ursa at the front desk and Jamie who served us at Mikes bar during the Canucks game... The Hume is by far our favourite spot to stay while in Nelson.

Room Tip: 4th floor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everything is top notch at this hotel. The staff are awesome (especially Jill, Brad, Bruce & Jodi). The pub is my favorite pub in Nelson, the SpiritBar has great entertainment booked constantly, the Library is a great place to relax and the restaurant and food is amazing! The rooms are comfortable and have a cool old west look to them. The liquor store is even amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In over 12 years of patronage at the Hume hotel, Mikes place pub, Sprit bar and also the library lounge, front desk and hotel I have never had a negative experience. The staff are friendly, accomodating and genuine. There is a reason the staff rarely turns over. It's like a family, and the staff always makes the customers feel like they are a part of that family as well. We are so lucky in Nelson to have such a warm, comfortable, historic and locally owned business to share with locals and tourists alike.
Thank you Ryan, Jill, Brianne, Bruce, Ashley, Chelsea, Andromeda, Margie, Craig, and everyone else at the Hume. Great Job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Hume is at the physical and cultural heart of Nelson. And rightfully so, with reliable, food excellent service and multiple venues, the Hume can cater to whatever your needs may be.
A favourite night will be enjoying a beer and pizza in Mikes Place being exceptionally well looked after by gun bartender Bruce Bergener and served exquisitely by Jill Teupah.
Go. Eat. Drink. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigkiwijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing