We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Scene No Sleep Allowed”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Club Scene No Sleep Allowed”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unfortunately, this once wonderful historic hotel in downtown Nelson now has a club scene downstairs that goes until 2:00 am. Even though our room was on the third floor on the opposite side of the building, it sounded like the band was in the room next door. The management here has made a clear decision to place the club goer's interests above those of their hotel guests. "Can't sleep, don't like the music...you can leave." Despite claims to the contrary, they do not adequately warn guests in advance about the sound issue and are unapologetic when you complain about it. If you want a good night's sleep in Nelson, BC, the Hume Hotel is NOT the place for you. Our worst hotel experience in Canada, bar none!



Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are truly sorry that you were kept awake due to noise. We have had a room that offers live entertainment and dancing to our guests since 1984. We really do let our guests know that, particularly on weekends, we can't guarantee quiet rooms. We continue to make every effort to minimize disruptions but there are indeed times when it can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. Reservations made by phone or by email have this warning. Perhaps in your case we had forgot. Our sincere apologies - thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    178
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
102
301
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We book this hotel at least once per year. We specifically take a motorbike trip to Nelson just to stay in this hotel. They are incredibly biker friendly--granted, we are not really bikers just people who ride a bike (if you get the distinction). The rooms are all lovely and very clean. This time we chose to stay in the renovated fourth floor rooms. The rrom was lovely but the renovation process took away some of the character. The next time we stay --and we definitely will-- we will go with the non renovated room. We really like the charm of the past. The included breakfast is wonderful and if you don't want any of the many choices on the set menu, you are given the option to choose off the main menu with some credit applied to that choice.
We absolutely love this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in something more than just a box with a door.

Room Tip: The Rapunzel Suite is awesome, but any of the rooms are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the favorable review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad you were able to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 4th floor. We hope to see you next year on another ride through the West Kootenays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked my room 4 months in advance, after reading the reviews on TA, I specifically asked for a room on the 4th floor due to noise concerns. When I got there they said my room was under renovations so they put me on the 3rd floor. We got very little sleep, the sound from the band on the main floor could easily be heard as could revellers on the street. That, combined with traffic noise and the constant flashing of the blinking traffic light outside the window coming through the inadequate blinds, kept us awake for most of the night. The final straw was when the ancient hot water radiator heater kicked in, hissing and clanging, shortly after we had finally managed to fall asleep. It made the room so stifling hot we could barely breathe, and there was no apparent way to control it. The room was musty smelling, didn't have a coffee maker, or an alarm clock. The one positive was the staff was great. After one night, (we booked 3) we checked out and got a room at the Best Western which was so much better. I don't understand how this hotel can be considered #1 in Nelson.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Evan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am really sorry that your room on the fourth floor was not ready in time for you. Many of the things that you did not enjoy about the Hume are things that we are fixing in the latest round of renovations. Things like the old steam radiators, which do offer that heritage charm, are being replaced so the room is less noisy and easier to control temperature. Sound proofing and solid core doors and new windows also have helped keep the noise down.

A 1 out of 5 is still a tough one to take. The Hume has always been highly ranked because it is different than all the other cookie cutter properties out there. An original fireplace, antiques, the woodwork, the rich history, the entertainment, the fantastic food, the wine and the unparalleled atmosphere are the reasons why it is highly ranked on TA. The most important attribute and our greatest asset, is the one thing that you mentioned was actually positive during your stay - the staff.

We have the best team of individuals any hotel owner could ask for, many of them are long term staff who truly take ownership of this place. It's evident when you walk through the doors immediately. I am lucky to work alongside them every day.

I understand that a stay at a character property may not be for everyone. You may be much more comfortable at the quiet Best Western Baker Street Inn. Also another good choice for travelers coming to Nelson. Perhaps a bit more predictable but beautiful rooms and great staff nonetheless. But for experiencing the true slice of Nelson, you just can't beat the Hume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and the food in the 3 eating areas (restaurant, pub, library) is great. Very delicious and of good value. Only some rooms are newly renovated, the others are old. Yes, nice old interior but they need new carpets and new beds. Indeed, they are clean but they need a modernisation. Not too much, because they make the charme of this hotel. New bathrooms perhaps. Nevertheless, great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honigbiene007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not knowing what to expect we booked one night here on our way home. What a classy place. A historic, wonderfully restored and comfortable hotel. Our room was large and tastefully furnished in period pieces. Clean and comfortable. We dined in the Lounge which resembled a mannered
drawing room with a great ambience. A real breakfast in the was also included in the warm and inviting restaurant. The food and the staff were perfect. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCaigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

If you haven't stayed in the new rooms, you must!!

These are by far my fav rooms - they remind me of home, modern and antique touches - love the bathroom tiling :)

We were looking for two rooms for ourselves and another cpl and their son - Lorelai (sp?) found us what we needed and it didn't cost us much more to make it work; did early checkin so we could get some rest too!

The pub food was great, breakfast in the general store was AWESOME and fast! Mmm bacon!

We even managed to squeeze in some time in Spirit Bar that night which reminded me of home (Vancouver)!

We both run restaurants and totally understand when places are busy etx and usually let things slide - it seemed as though the staff in and around the Hume knew we just needed a few days to not care about work and made everything perfect without any hassle or asking!

The ONLY downside was the painter in the hallway in the morning blasting music outside our door that woke us - but not the hotels fault AT ALL!

Can't wait for our next trip to Nelson!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyLis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks so much for such a glowing review. The best experiences of the Hume are the ones that feature a little bit of every department. You clearly received the 'grand tour' and I am pleased that you were taken care of so well by our dedicated team. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hume Hotel, we received such great service from the moment I reserved the rooms over the phone until we checked out, it appears that the staff really enjoy working at the hotel. We loved the newly decorated room, will visit again to see the finished redecorated hotel, our room was very clean and comfortable. Recommend staying there, the food was excellent and all the hotel staff were very helpful and polite. It was great to learn about the history of the hotel and Nelson town by visiting the Art Gallery next door. My husband and I enjoyed our short stay, but will definetly return and always book The Hume as our place to stay.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAnn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Being a historic property, we were absolutely thrilled when we heard that the Museum and Art Gallery, known as Touchstones, was moving in right across the street from us. History buffs and art lovers can walk across the street to enjoy learning about the pieces of our past and exceptional works of art at any time. Thanks for the positive review - we look forward to hosting you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing