We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Greeted by a very friendly receptionist who set the tone for the rest of the staff. In fact, we've never stayed in a hotel where the service was so considerate and welcoming.

The complimentary breakfast was a delicious bonus.

The only thing lacking in the room was a coffee maker!

Room Tip: If the sound of traffic bothers you, opt for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoJeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    178
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
102
301
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grandview
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For two nights my husband and I stayed in the Hume Hotel while on vacation in British Columbia. I love staying in historic hotels and this one didn't disappoint. In a city that is vibrant and exciting surrounded by incredible scenery, the Hume is a standout. Even though the room was smallish, it was still a nice clean room. The front desk folks were more than accommodating and the Library Bar was a congenial place to share a drink with a newfound friend who happened to love history as much as I did. There is still some renovating and updating going on at the hotel but that didn't diminish the ambiance. A great place to stay on the International Selkirk Loop

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side and there was a nice cool breeze. No A/C but that is expected soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannibaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I unexpectedly spent the night in Nelson recently. Being in the industry, I was offered a nice rate which was much appreciated given I supposed to be in Nelson for the day.

The whole feel of the place is great. The novelty of being handed a hard key instead of a card was wonderful. We were treated very well by the whole team including the library, breakfast, spiritbar and guest services.

We had a great heritage corner unit with two very comfortable beds, the room was immaculate and charming.

If you're looking for a real experience and a walk back in time, this warm and charming hotel is for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved staying here. The rooms were large, clean and well serviced. The bars and restaurant staff were so friendly and the service was great. We came across the hotel by chance and wished we could have stayed longer. Keep up the good work you are doing a great job. Lovely receptionist

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I am happy that you are completely satisfied with everything. It is the team of dedicated staff who make it all possible. I will share your comments with the rest of the staff. We appreciate your business. Thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We attended the Nelson car show in September. Friends had stayed at this hotel the year prior so we followed their advice and booked a room. Shortly before our stay we were invited to upgrade to one of their newly designed rooms which offered air conditioning. We were glad we did this. The hotel is super and the new rooms still had the old time charm but with upgraded amenities. The best thing about the Hume is it's restaurant. We dined there for all of our meals and were never disappointed. Service was outstanding. Full breakfast is included with price of room and it was delicious both mornings. We have already booked rooms at the Hume for next year's show. And since the cars park just a block from the hotel, it is the perfect spot!

Room Tip: In the summer months, the extra charge for upgraded rooms with a/c is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh55Libby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pretty good hotel considering its age. I was kind of iffy about it because it is an old hotel, but it turned out to be a charming place to stay.

Staff was friendly and they allowed us to see the room first before we booked it. They were concerned we would hate the noise from the club downstairs. It was loud, but bearable. I do wonder why a historical hotel would have a cheap club with obnoxious music in their basement...I feel sorry for the staff who has to listen to that music for hours every night!

Supposedly the Hume is HAUNTED, but we didn't experience anything. Or maybe I did? I had one of my best night sleep EVER. The bed (and pillow) was sooooo comfortable I didn't want to get up! I want to go back just for the bed, lol. Oh, and the shower was amazing. OMG that shower I almost forgot about until I read the other reviews (note: it does take some time for the water to warm up in the morning).

I'd give this place a 5, but had to dock one star because of the obnoxious club in the basement.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for the review. You need not feel sorry for the staff who work in the Spiritbar. The truth is, we see some top quality touring acts on a weekly basis down there. It ranges from electronic music to unreal live shows. It is more of an showroom than it is a nightclub. We have recently hosted K'Naan, Fishbone, Maceo Parker, Josh Ritter, Elliott Brood, K-OS, Corb Lund, Delhi 2 Dublin and many other great shows. Most of the staff love the diversity of entertainment we see down there. Many of our overnight guests travel from different towns to see some of the shows we have playing and find it very convenient to 'take the elevator home' at the end of the night. It is the most dynamic room in the hotel.

As far as being haunted, there is certainly lots of local lore about ghosts residing within the hotel. We even themed Spiritbar around the more intrinsic heritage that resides here - the spirit of the hotel. I have personally been in this hotel for 32 years and I do not have any ghost stories to share unfortunately. There have been no ghost sightings to speak of, but hey, everyone loves a good ghost story and we think it's fun.

Thanks for the positive review. Just remember that the music is not always obnoxious! You can check out the lineup on our Facebook page at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the Hume Hotel. We stayed in one of the renovated 4th floor rooms and it was wonderful. This was our anniversary and our stay was great, very comfortable bed, great shower, quiet. A tasty breakfast and great atmosphere, we will return for another stay, hopefully around christmas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanC529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for the favourable review, Dean C. After spending considerable money on the fourth floor renovation, we wanted to make sure we addressed soundproofing by way of spray foaming between walls and using solid core doors that a local carpenter made for us. It is quite rewarding to see people are finding these rooms quiet.

The rest of the fourth floor rooms will be complete by Christmas 2012 so we hope to see you back again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing