We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming atmosphere and fantastic food”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We loved our stay from the old fashioned atmosphere, awesome staff to the great food in the restaurant!! We will be back soon..... Best place to eat in town...larger servings, good prices and fantastic food. Great Job.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KootenayGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 720 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

Great hotel,best value in Nelson,hotel has a wonderful old time charm,great restaurant and facilities,very courtious and outgoing staff,great overall experience

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Hume hotel is more than just a bed to sleep on. The food is unbeatable and the friendly and happy staff add to the amazing atmosphere in one of B.C's best towns.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My friend and I came to Nelson to ski and were not let down on the hill. Our stay at the Hume made the trip, great restaurants, night club/concert and rustic Mikes pub. We had the best service that could be imagined. We asked if it was possible to get us into the sold out concert, they made it happen. We hosted a dinner for friends, it was unique and BC in all ways - so good! Rooms are clean, reasonable and central to everything. This is the go to place for skiing and entertainment!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

In the beautiful town of Nelson is this family hotel, you could not find more attentive wonderful staff.
The food is absolutely fantastic, you will eat yourself silly, and after walking it off can relax in the rooms which are homely with a graceful old fashion feel.
If you are thinking of travelling to this beautiful part of BC then this is the place to stay, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has an old world charm from the pub to irestaurants and bars and rooms, if like me you enjoy independent hotels rather than the chain feel you will love this hotel.
It also has a modern music venue in the basement where you might be lucky to catch some great music!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I think this is the 4th time we have stayed at the Hume. The location is perfect - town is right there with all it interesting shops within a minutes walk from the hotel. We had supper in "The Library". Not only was our server (Rachel) a delight, the food was wonderful and the Library is a great cozy place to dine. Lychee Cranberry Gin Martini to start them perfectly cooked Calamari, breaded Oysters, Camembert Stuffed Chicken followed by Chocolate Dipped strawberries, oh my it was good. The rooms are very clean and the beds were comfortable. We slept great! Breakfast was included with the room. We had the days special which was spinach, feta, egg scramble, with homemade hash-browns, toast and coffee. Service was quick and friendly. Once, again, the Hume Hotel did not dissapoint.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nexttripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

My friend and I stay at the Hume Hotel every Winter before our ski trip. We have only had great experiences here. Lorelei and Miriam at the front are friendly and very helpfull. This makes our stay even better. We like that the breakfast is included and is good. The bar and pizza are excellent. My friend and I would encourage anyone going to Nelson who needs accomodations to stay at the Hume Hotel. It also has a haunted room but the ghost in room 335 never actually bothered us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $120 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing