We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Hound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Hound Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
St. Albert
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Basic Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Parking is tight, rooms are a bit spartan but the prices were good; staff friendly and location exceptional. Definitely a transit hotel rather than a lounging resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
54
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tripletoes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Good Location, clean. Staff helpful and friendly.
Doesn't meet the definition of a "boutique hotel" unless the cinder blocks are "quirky".
Lacks amenities - like a hairdryer!!!
Feels like a jail cell with the cinder-block walls - definitely could use some creative painting.
Bathrooms like those in the old 50's motel
Morning continental "breakfast" awful - coffee terrible - really a joke - a bruised apple, a couple oranges and some pastries. They could at least splurge on organic coffee - it is Nelson, after all!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights which were pretty good. The property is clean and the service is friendly and warm. However, the rooms are very small and because the walls are cinder block, the atmosphere in the room is not very comforting. The beds though are very nice. We always look to book into hotels that do NOT use bed spreads. The Mountain Hound does the beds right!

  • Liked — Location, high-speed internet, customer service
  • Disliked — Size and quality of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collingwood ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Our stay was great! The rooms were small but nice and the beds were amazing! I have not ever slept in a more comfortable bed so the small size of the room didn't bother us. The rooms are quiet and are right on the main street. We could walk to everything and never had to drive to shops or restaurants. The staff were very nice and we will stay there again.

  • Liked — The beds and location.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kikimonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

I wouldn't recommend staying here to many people. If you're not planning on staying in your room for any period of time then it's fine beacause it is cheap. It felt like a jail, there was no ventilation and the atmosphere overall was a little depressing. The staff were nice to us and if you're looking for a place to basically pass out at the end of the day and nothing else this place is a good deal, but if you want to relax or have a romantic getaway then don't come here! It is centrally located, but most hotels in Nelson are, I used to live here and I would recommend staying at the Hume Hotel for a unique stay or if you are more traditional and prefer a chain go for the Prestige on the lakefront.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

The hotel was easy to find, being located on one of the main streets in Nelson. Parking is nearly all metered, but there are plenty of spaces available. The hotel reception will happily top up your meter if you leave them quarters.

Staff on reception were friendly and helpful, both check-in and check-out were problem-free.

The rooms are small, but very clean and have a modern feel. Our room did not have a view as it looked out onto a neighbouring wall. The nightly rate is very good value, and the hotel also offers ski passes at reduced rates for nearby Whitewater.

The only downside is that there is no wifi access in rooms, alhough there is a internet terminal in the reception.

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Disliked — No free wi-fi
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Better to stay somewhere else- the place felt like a prison with the breeze block walls and cramped rooms. The staff were very rude and actually accused us of stealing a towel!!! They made us wait when we were leaving while they established that they had only given us two towels.

We moved to the hostel which was cheaper, friendlier and had a hot tub :)

  • Liked — Leaving... sad but true
  • Disliked — Agressive racist staff, cramped room
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank padraigvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hound Inn

Property: Mountain Hound Inn
Address: 621 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4J3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Hound Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in Nelson's newest boutique hotel, the Mountain Hound Inn. Located right in the heart of historic baker street, we're only steps away from Nelson's finest shops, restaurants and nightlife. Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary high-speed internet connection in each room, right down to the luxurious triple-sheeted beds at budget rates, the Mountain Hound Inn offers a stay like no other. For Years the Mountain Hound Inn has catered to travelers of all kinds. Our staff are passionate about where we live and what we do, and we love to share that passion for all that Nelson and the Kootenay Region has to offer with our guests. Hiking, Biking, Motorcycling. Fishing, Climbing, Kayaking. Skiing, Boarding, Snow-Shoeing. Nelson is a gem of outdoor activity, and we love to see you get out and enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Hound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hound Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing