We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Once you step inside and see the view, you feel...”
other travelers have booked this property
East facing view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East facing view
West facing porch Dining table and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
East facing view
West facing porch
Dining table and kitchen view
Cooking island and sliding door to deck
Outdoor shower
Living Room windows..facing South
Downstair bedroom
Soaker Tub
Tub with lake view
Second bedroom leading to pond area
The Nest
Deck chairs facing South
Porch table and hammock
Outdoor shower in evening light
End of day at El Nido entrance
Sunrise July 30th
Garden Bench at pond side
Early morning on the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peggy30
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once you step inside and see the view, you feel tranquil and happy.”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay. Every room has a view that you get lost in and immediately feel at peace. You literally can feel the stress melt away. We came for total relaxation and we sure felt it. The property is so beautiful, peaceful, and private. The view of the mountains, and Queens Bay is one of the prettiest I've ever seen. We never tired of it. We loved the great room's view for sure but I have to say, waking up to the view in the bedroom downstairs was our favorite.
The cabin's wood work is beautiful (old growth wood was used as well as new) and has such a feeling of warmth. We never wanted to leave. So we made use of the gourmet kitchen and had most of our meals in. Grilled steaks, made a pot of chili, drank wonderful wine and read a lot. Due to the cold weather, we loved having the use of the wood burning stove. We did some hiking at Kokanee Glacier Provincial Park, had lunch at the Dock and Duck there at the Balfour Ferry, and enjoyed a meal at Relish in Nelson.
The owner Mick was most welcoming and so accommodating. We really enjoyed our dinner with you Mick at La Cantina in Nelson before we left. Great food and wonderful company.
Thank you for sharing your home with us. It was pure bliss.
Peggy and David
Bellevue, WA USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the privacy and the peacefulness. Did I mention the view?!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
Victoria, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular setting - peaceful & private”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The sweeping views over the lake are stunning. The house is beautifully situated, very private and surrounded with natural gardens and seating areas that invite relaxation and reflection. The inside of the house is warm, welcoming and eclectic. The only glitch in our stay was a non-functioning oven which made for a creative Thanksgiving dinner. Thankfully Mick had given us the heads up about the oven in advance which helped with our planning. All in - a very enjoyable and memorable family time. Thanks for sharing your special retreat in the Kootenays Mick!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the views
Liked least: non-functioning oven
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a perfect place for a honeymoon. We wanted to be in a cabin like setting but also in luxury! El nido was a great balance!. The views are completely INCREDIBLE! We could not stop saying, "BEAUTIFUL" the whole stay. Keep in mind you are tucked away in the tree's and in a cabin home, Therefore, we did experience a few bugs in the home and even a little lizard!! However, I was not bothered by this at all, what else would you expect when you are staying in a cabin! The home was completely CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN and perfect for cooking! We can not wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechpool...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic time at El Nido. We're a family of five and had plenty of space. Views were to die for. Breakfast on the deck! Kitchen amazingly equipped for your inner chef! Thanks Mick (perfect host when needed) Really close to Nelson. Recommend the Nelson Whitewater Rafting for some fun and Main Street Diner for fab food or the Balfour Golf Club. We'll be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akimball5...
Larchmont, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Nido is perfection!”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A friend and I heard about Nelson and wanted to visit. We also wanted to stay in a house. We chose El Nido and were completely enchanted. The house is in an amazing location: tremendous views and a lot of privacy. The inside is as good as the outside: well appointed with a great aesthetic. You start to relax as soon as you enter. We were nervous that we might be too far from Nelson but the location is great. Nelson is 30 minutes away and the ferry to the peninsula is less than 10 minutes away. We hiked and explored the area, following many of Mick Collier's (the owner) excellent suggestions. Mick greeted us, showed us around and was easily accessible throughout our stay. We hated to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler5...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place was everything we were looking for and more. We have just finished an incredible getaway to Kootenay's. The pictures do not do justice to the views & the property. The wrap around deck leaves you situated above the lake with a 180 degree view of mountains & lake. The layout is spacious and open, and you feel relaxed the moment you walk through the door.Reading a book in the hammock as the ferry's sail past was a highlight for me.

The kitchen is a delight too cook in while enjoying the outdoors. If there were more than 4 of us 1 bathroom would have been difficult but that is an easy compromise for everything else this private location has to offer.We enjoyed the drive into Nelson allowing us to enjoy & explore what the area has to offer.

Mick is a great host, was quick to reply and ensure our needs were met. Thanks for our incredible getaway. We look forward to coming back, maybe this fall? :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newlywedd...
Nelson, Canada
1 review
“Perfect wedding venue and honeymoon destination”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Mick! Our stay at El Nido was just perfect for us and our wee wedding. We loved the time we shared with each other and our children. The vistas from your nest are outrageous, your nest, too, is sweet and warm. The hummingbirds, the bald eagles, the mountains, the flowers, garden and pond make this space remarkable, a little piece of heaven.

We look forward to visiting again!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing