We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
East facing view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East facing view
West facing porch Dining table and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
East facing view
West facing porch
Dining table and kitchen view
Cooking island and sliding door to deck
Outdoor shower
Living Room windows..facing South
Downstair bedroom
Soaker Tub
Tub with lake view
Second bedroom leading to pond area
The Nest
Deck chairs facing South
Porch table and hammock
Outdoor shower in evening light
End of day at El Nido entrance
Sunrise July 30th
Garden Bench at pond side
Early morning on the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveler5...
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place was everything we were looking for and more. We have just finished an incredible getaway to Kootenay's. The pictures do not do justice to the views & the property. The wrap around deck leaves you situated above the lake with a 180 degree view of mountains & lake. The layout is spacious and open, and you feel relaxed the moment you walk through the door.Reading a book in the hammock as the ferry's sail past was a highlight for me.

The kitchen is a delight too cook in while enjoying the outdoors. If there were more than 4 of us 1 bathroom would have been difficult but that is an easy compromise for everything else this private location has to offer.We enjoyed the drive into Nelson allowing us to enjoy & explore what the area has to offer.

Mick is a great host, was quick to reply and ensure our needs were met. Thanks for our incredible getaway. We look forward to coming back, maybe this fall? :)

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newlywedd...
Nelson, Canada
1 review
“Perfect wedding venue and honeymoon destination”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Mick! Our stay at El Nido was just perfect for us and our wee wedding. We loved the time we shared with each other and our children. The vistas from your nest are outrageous, your nest, too, is sweet and warm. The hummingbirds, the bald eagles, the mountains, the flowers, garden and pond make this space remarkable, a little piece of heaven.

We look forward to visiting again!

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie G
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
1 review
“Private paradise”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I rented El Nido for our wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better place. This place is a little paradise for anyone who appreciate the beauty of nature. The breathtaking view, the hummingbirds and the quiet serenity. The pictures are really nice, but are nothing compare to what it really is and the little secrets it holds. It's very private. You feel like you are alone, nested in the trees and one with nature. It's great food for the soul.
The house has all the amenities needed. The kitchen is well supplied and very inspiring if you like cooking. Even doing the dishes is a pleasure in this house. The exterior shower was a must for us, as it was almost 40 degrees when we were there. To take a shower outside and let yourself dry in the sun was very refreshing. The master bedroom is downstairs and was always nice and cool to sleep at night.
Mick is a very nice person and very welcoming. He helps you feel at home right away. He's always easy to get a hold of, if you need anything during your stay.
I could keep going about this place, but I'll let you discover the rest for yourself.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Dream place”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fabulous time at El Nido! There were six of us; Mick showed us around the house the first night and then gave us our privacy for the next three nights.
We spent the entire long weekend lounging around the house (the hammock and the outdoor shower are a must!) , taking in the breathtaking views of Kootenay Lake, watching the hummingbirds, cooking together, dancing, yoga-ing and checking out the town of Nelson! Beautiful area, beautiful house. We all definitely recommend El Nido! It is a dream house that we could see ourselves living in full time if we could!!! It's very relaxing.Thank you Mick for being a great host!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilsofty
Jasper National Park, Canada
1 review
“It really doesn't get any better than this.”
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely beautiful location and accommodation. Peaceful and secluded with what might very well be the best view in the Kootenays. I can't think of anything that wasn't provided or left to be desired. Thank you Mick for an incredible getaway. Leaving was the hardest part but hoping to return some day made it bearable,

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and privacy.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkuchan
Paris, France
1 review
“Unforgettable beauty ... Inside and out!”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Mick has created an incredible sanctuary on the the lake. Peaceful, spectacular views, incredible lighting and sound system for ambiance. We loved the location...close to Nelson, water sports, the hot springs and like a nest, hillside on the lake. It's a perfect place to relax and unwind. Breakfast on the deck with the sun rising and awesome views from the kitchen...a cooks delight! The outdoor shower and indoor tub with a view were amazing. The king size bed was comfortable, but the smaller, full? size bed was too small and less comfortable, for our preferences. Mick was available, and a helpful insider guide to the area. We'll be back!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onederfel
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Absolutely Magical!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The house is beautiful. The location is majestic. Being there was absolutely amazing.

Mick takes great care of his guests. He'll treat you like family if you want, or leave you entirely alone to have your own experience.

He is nice, responsive to any needs, and a naturally gracious host.

The property is secluded and private - great for a retreat and real getaway.

The house itself is absolutely beautiful, from the unique architecture to the wonderfully functional kitchen, to the the awesome bathroom with a deep tub and a steam room!

I highly highly recommend this property except for people who want to stay there when we want to visit again :)

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing