We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be at least half the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prestige Inn Nelson
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed August 3, 2010

If you like a train running through your room at 3:30am, then this is the place for you.
We paid over 200 dollars to be woken up by the door slamming open and shut all night, a train barreling through our room and shabby finishes to the room. Apparently they are to warn you of the train when booking but no such thing happened. To top it off, the waitress at the sister hotel, the Lakeside Prestige (Ric's grill) was horrible and condescending, making me resent the money I paid for breakfast as well. This is a budget hotel priced like a 4 star. Very Disappointing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieqKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing & Sales Team at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. At Prestige Hotels & Resorts we take all comments seriously and are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience. All of the above mentioned items have been addressed and we sincerely appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Prestige Hotels & Resorts in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at the Prestige Inn-Lakeview as a last minute decision on our way through a B.C. car tour. The pictures on their website looked OK and we got a touch over-excited about the thought of staying in the "Executive Suite". Some key disclosures here: we were two families, 4 adults and 2 large teenage boys and we wanted to fit into a single large suite if we could. (It worked the previous two nights in Osoyoos at the Best Western so we thought we'd try it again.) The room was smaller than the Best Western and very, very quirky - we were told that it was quickly developed/renovated to capture overflows from their high-end property 3-4 blocks away. Hall ways were narrow, big step up from living room to bedroom, bedroom had 2 queens but barely enough room to navigate around them. These are more facts than complaints as the view from the room was just awesome as it overlooked the beautiful Kootenay Lake and Bridge and was a hop-step-jump away from Lakeside Park where we tossed the frizbee with the teenagers. We went for a spectacular evening swim on a gorgeous summer evening then wandered up town for a equally delicious meal at the Main Street Diner.

Important note: we were warned both at the reservation time and at checkin time about the train that was about 100 feet from our balcony and that it came at odd hours. We figured that the wine would get us past this... and it did. The train came by in the morning around 10 and all was good. (I've also heard that it can come by at 2:00AM as well and, because there is a main traffic intersection there, it's gotta blow that big horn!!! SO... be prepared.

Decent value for the money, beautiful view of the lake and spitting distance to Lakeside Park. A strange hotel indeed but, if you're into a bit of a gamble then this might work for you. It worked for us and we will be laughing about this room for the next ten years.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing & Sales Team at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

Thank you for your positive comments. Nelson is quickly becoming known for its beautiful lake views, mountain scenery and pristine parks. The Prestige Inn-Lakeview is a quaint hotel close to all amenities and as you mentioned, walking distance to the Lakeside Park. We are pleased to hear that your family had an experience that will last a lifetime and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was clean and quiet (except for some rude neighbours on their patio!). Most of the staff were helpful if we had questions about where things around town were. They were all friendly. We were aware it was right on the train tracks (literally 40 feet - so close though that sitting on the second floor patio you could not see them). The train came through at around 3 am on 3 of the nights, once at 5am blowing its whistle as it passed. The hotel was a little overpriced based on this. You could request a room facing the mountains instead of the lake, but no patio and the lakeview is really pretty. The continental breakfast included was very good for a continental, and the restaurant had freindly helpful wait staff and a lovely patio on the lake. It was however a 10 minute walk, or quick drive to the Prestige Hotel where the breakfast was. We did make another trip over to use the partner hotel's hottub and pool which was nice, but the distance was an inconvienence, especialy coming back wet! The inn was right next to a save-on foods, and a walmart if food or forgotten things were needed. 15 minute walk to Baker street where all the restaurants and shops are. The visitor's information center is a 15 minute walk away, or 5 minutes walk from the breakfast, which was handy to ge thte day started, Right on Highway 3a. I am not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoast74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing and Sales Team at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Prestige Inn Lakeview. Your kind words will go a long way as we strive to offer our guests friendly service and quality accommodations. However, we regret that your sleep was interrupted by the train whistle. We are pleased to read that the rest of the trip was enjoyable. We are delighted that you took the opportunity to enjoy breakfast on the resort terrace and take a beautiful walk along the Waterfront Walkway, as it is simply a breathtaking view. We hope that you will choose to stay with us on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed only one night here on our way home from a road trip. It was clean and quiet (except for the early morning train but we had been warned by the front desk and it really didn't bother us overly). We actually enjoyed walking over to the Lakeside for our continental breakfast as it is such a beautiful area. The breakfast was good - much better than your basic continental breakfast. We have stayed in various locations in Nelson and this one was better than some but not as nice as the Prestige Lakeside but then, it was cheaper and we got breakfast so we are not complaining. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at the nelson Prestige Hotel and were greeted by a sweet young lady (Carolina) who checked us in a room overlooking the lake. The complimentary breakfast, in the main part of the hotel, was a continental but was fine. Rooms were decorated very nicely...the floors were laminate which was a nice change. There is a great coffee shop in Nelson, Oso Negro, and it has great coffee as well as a cool outdoor sitting area. We had to leave early so we never got to enjoy the funky shops in Nelson's downtown core.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing and Sales Team at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful community in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights with 4 kids, despite not being told of the 3:30 am train and after the first night of settling down a 2 year old train enthusiast it fit all of us just fine. I found the staff extremely helpful and courteous. The views of the lake and park were great and we took full advantage of the BBQ area. If you have teens this is a great place to stay so they can walk just steps to the mall. I should also say that you will have full access to the sister resort on the lake front with it's pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing & Sales at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our boutique-style hotel. Many guests enjoy the sights and sounds of the passing locomotive especially the children and railway buffs. Thank you once again. We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights(pre booked so couldn't cancel) at the Prestige..it was a total dissapointment.. The place resembles a cheap motel..very shabby rooms, ripped drapes,cracked mirror in bathroom. A very noisy hotel because of thin walls, you can hear everything in the room next door. Then of course there is the freight train that passes the hotel maybe only 40 ft away twice a day/night...need I say more?!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sunlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Inn Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Inn Nelson

Address: 1301 Front St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $70 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Inn Nelson 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestige Inn Nelson is an elegantly appointed French boutique style hotel located near the cultural district of Nelson. Our superior service and elegant guest rooms make this the ideal property to ensure your visit to Nelson is a memorable one. Lifestyle and Getaway packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Prestige Inn Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Inn Nelson Hotel Nelson
Prestige Lakeview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing