We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, fresh, fresh!”
Review of Cantina Del Centro

Cantina Del Centro
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lunch on Oct. 20th, 2013
Ordered both the taco specials which were prawn and fish and a bowl of Taco Soup.
The tacos are soft shelled, about 4" across so a nice few bites. Both were excellent!
Served at a perfectly nice temperature, with fresh cilantro, tasted fresh, fresh, fresh!
The taco soup was unique in that the taco bits were served separately so you could add crunch to your soup or eat the crunchy bits on their own.
Sauce was separate so you could add as much heat as you like.
Non alcoholic Hibiscus Agua Fresca, simply heaven!
Nice dishes to eat off, nice service, great food, reasonable cost, convenient location on the main drag, easy parking!!
Highly recommend for a quick, tasty lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank livetotravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezcaleria K, Manager at Cantina Del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for your awesome review...yes we use fresh ingredients all the time and we are proud to say that. When the weather allows we source local ingredients!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 310 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped in here before going for dinner, it was a bit early yet but we were thirsty. We had the best little taco's ever, some home made salsa and chips and beers. Wonderful atmosphere, very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezcaleria K, Manager at Cantina Del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a set of four different tacos and they were all very tasty. The portions could have been slightly larger but the flavors were spot on and the service was stellar. Good drink specials as well and a nice atmosphere for a dinner out on the late side. It's also a plus that this restaurant is open considerably later than some of the other spots in town.

Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezcaleria K, Manager at Cantina Del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks AT for your review! It definitely help us to get better...we are working on more generous portions as well as new menu items. Hope to see you around Cantina del Centro again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Patio seating is a must. Inside was too hot and stuffy. The service was exceptionally fast. Thoroughly enjoyed the tortilla soup. The four veg tacos for $9 was lovely with a variety of veg tacos to choose from. Also shared four meat tacos $12. Would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karlyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezcaleria K, Manager at Cantina Del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Karlyrobin, thanks for your review! So good to hear that you like the food. We really take pride in the freshness of our food and of course the taste! Hope to see you around Cantina del Centro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to the cantina multiple times and every time, the same thing. I wait forever for someone to acknowledge my existence, drinks and food gets ordered at the same time because I had that long of sitting there I could read both menus. Food and drink arrive at the same time. No one asks how my meal is, no one cares to ask if I would like another drink. I sat at the bar thinking it would solve the problem but that was actually worse. The food and drink are delicious and the young guy who makes the late night tacos is awesome, too bad he doesn't seem old enough to serve during the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezcaleria K, Manager at Cantina Del Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Kari D, Thanks for your review, it will definitely help us get better. We are working hard on providing a better service overall. Hope we get another chance to see you @ Cantina del Centro to serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Del Centro also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cantina Del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing