We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete zen experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar

Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar
Ranked #36 of 94 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar. We make East-Indian and Kootenay fusion food. We make almost everything we serve in-house and use organic ingredients and as much local produce as possible. We are environmentally conscious and compost all of our organic waste. We also try to give back to the community by supporting Food Not Bombs in Nelson.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A complete zen experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the best tasting food I've had since moving to Western Canada 2 years ago. I realized as I was eating that I had forgotten what good food tasted like.

Pros: delicious food, lovely, helpful, patient service, pleasant, calm, relaxed atmosphere.

Coms: I don't live close enough to partake often enough, they're closed on sundays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Subcortically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
We are now open Sundays! 8-3pm. Also open @ 8 every day of the week!

Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcoming door to the vegetarian lifestyle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I came across this excellent vegetarian bistro a few years ago through a friend's recommendation. I ordered a bowl that had everything in it. A few years passed while I was away living in Victoria. I recently came back to joyfully eating here once again. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. I explained my previous experience with the bowl and he recommended the Krishna bowl (I probably spelt it wrong). It was delicious. I do not know what I ate but I know it was clean, flavourful, interesting, and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend to non-vegetarians and vegetarians alike. I understand how many non-vegetarians scoff at vegetarian dishes but this is vegetarian done right. Do take the opportunity to find this gem in Nelson and enjoy some natural flavours.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice descriptive review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Veggie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Yummy veggie food and great treats. Great variety of indian influenced veggies and sauces. Staff is very helpful and kind.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
253 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of the Best Spots in Nelson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We eat here each and every time we go to Nelson. Hands down our favorite restaurant but not open for dinner

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2016
Thanks for the nice review!
We are now open until 7pm Monday - Saturday, and 3 on Sundays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Jagannatha Express Vegetarian Bistro & Organic Juice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing