We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ, awesome service.”
Review of Smokewood BBQ

Smokewood BBQ
Ranked #10 of 108 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Sunday night and Nelson closes early. The smokehouse was about to close but Joan the friendly proprietor stayed open and served us a wonderful bbq assortment. Ribs, brisket, pulled pork, beans, coleslaw and biscuit. It was all very yummy. Good value too. Any committed carnevoir will appreciate. Not for vegetarians.

Thank F8419NWtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanK1418, Owner at Smokewood BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks Tony! It was great to meet you both and be part of your culinary tour :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Not quite up to Texas standards but nonetheless pretty good.

The ribs were fall off the bone tender with good smoke but lacked the bite I desire.

The brisket was likewise tender.

Great coleslaw. Nice and creamy but not too sweet.

Fair prices.

Friendly counter service.

Not much ambience.

1  Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanK1418, Owner at Smokewood BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review. It was great to serve your group and hear about your passion for bbq.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went to Nelson with our friend from out of town and came for lunch.
We were more than thrilled with the amazing food and great service!
I had the pulled pork sandwich and they had the BBQ box, I can tell you that no words were being said during lunch other than YUMM!!!
This is the best BBQ in the Kootenays!!!
I highly recommend this spot for amazing food for the value!
Thank you Smokewood BBQ we will return!!!

2  Thank thedizzle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanK1418, Owner at Smokewood BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks for your words! It was great to have your group, see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Great bbq eat in or take out Rib and chicken with mac and cheese for the kids. We ate in and it was delicious.

1  Thank MikeG7199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanK1418, Owner at Smokewood BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My rating is based on my expectations from reading the Trip Advisor reviews, so I went in expecting excellent barbecue. The cole slaw and beans were both excellent. The meat was all somewhat dry (brisket, pulled pork and ribs) but the bbq sauce was good. The corn bread muffins however were the biggest disappointment as they were very dry, perhaps due to the fact they were quite small. The manager asked how my meal was and she expressed genuine concern about the corn bread muffins and seemed open to my suggestion to perhaps add honey to her recipe to sweeten them up a bit and add some moisture. Prices were good and service was quick and efficient,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanK1418, Owner at Smokewood BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks for your comments Doug. We are always working hard to serve the best bbq we can and your suggestion was welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokewood BBQ also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Smokewood BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing