We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ski hill for serious skiers”

Whitewater Ski Resort
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's all about the Snow...Cradled in BC’s legendary Selkirk Mountains, renowned for epic winters, Whitewater’s dependable dry snowfall totals over 13.5 meters a season. That’s more than 44 feet. And there’s more. Factor in the 5,400ft/ 1,640m base elevation, world renowned Fresh Tracks Cafe and you have the most reliable ski resort in the west.Come experience True Kootenay Mountain Culture.
oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great ski hill for serious skiers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a week here. Half powder and half bluebird groomers. Great place for advanced skiers. Spaced tree skiing, lots if chutes where you see no one. Short to non-existent lift lines. Surprisingly good food and local brew. Worth the drive

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank skidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    36
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“POWDER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great little ski hill for those searching for powder, tree skiing and short lift lines. The food at Fresh Tracks Cafe is delicious and I can't wait to make some of the recipes at home with their cookbook.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ski Nirvana!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This mountain has to be one of the best kept secrets in Canada! To be fair it is really not a great place for the piste only skier..... Except that the food and coffee is better than any other ski hill in Canada ... So come for just that!!!
However off piste is where Whitewater excels.... My friends ( very serious skiers!!!!) told me that with the new Glory Ridge chair Whitewater has some of the best glading in Canada....they were correct!
However it is often difficult as a visitor to get to the best spots. This is where Whitewater has hit on a winner! Their IN DEEP programme where for $20 they will guide you into the locals' spots is a complete winner!! After 2 sessions I still had no idea where I was but Duncan and Alex respectively had shown me some of the best stashes on the mountain... This has to be the best deal in Canada!! Combined with friendly staff, amazing ski hosts, kids who ski like demons, food to die for ( and you can buy the recipe book) this is a must go to Mountain! And while you are there stay in Nelson as your base! For a serious skier/ boarder ( yes there is even a place to those who have gone across to the dark side!!) you will die happy after going here!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ski I have had in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Small resort with great snow and runs and no waiting for lifts! Amazing views, runs for beginners NAND off track powder and tree runs. Small lodge with really good food, not the normal ski hill junk food. There are three cook books from the lodge with amazing recipes. Views from the summit are breathtaking. If you haven't skied for a while book a discover package amazing value include gear lift pass and two hour lesson, best value ever.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank reggieboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We live in Whistler so time to send the crowds elsewhere. We visited over Christmas and the snow was patchy every where in BC and although WH20 didn't have as much as usual it was still very good steep fall line skiing that could be enjoyed. With the lack of people there I'm sure on a big pow day you could find fresh lines all day. The stunning was setting. The food service was exceptionally slow, we waited about 15 minutes for an average bacon sandwich in the morning and the lunch at the Express cafe took about 40 minutes to get with only about 6 people ahead of us for a fairly indifferent falafel wrap. I'd take a packed lunch next time to avoid the queues and enjoy the skiing more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitewater Ski Resort also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
New Hazelton, Kitimat-Stikine District
 

Been to Whitewater Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing