We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resteraunt!”
Review of Rel-ish

Rel-ish
Ranked #11 of 95 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resteraunt!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family loves this restaurant. It feels fancy and upscale, but caters to families, and is reasonably priced. Roasted beet salad is delish!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Rel-ish, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for rating relish on trip advisor. We are very happy to hear your experience was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    86
    25
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The bad service ruined what might have been a good experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at 3:30PM for a late lunch and were put at a small table stuffed into a corner at the top of the stairs; it was a small cramped space and the stuffed chairs were too lad back to sit comfortable and eat at that table without sitting on the front edge of the chair and leaning forward.
We were given menus and when we placed our orders for lunch a few minutes later we were told at that time lunch was over and were left again to make another choice from the dinner menu; it would have been nice to have been told when we first sat down, not after we tried to order. Our first waitress was quite abrupt and dropped off our Caesar salad without cutlery; it took us a while to get her attention again to get some cutlery for the salad. Our meal arrived and shortly afterward our first waitress came to our table to inform us she was leaving and we'd be looked after by a second waitress. The second waitress seemed less abrupt than the first which was nice, but after we finished our meal we sat unattended for quite a long time while our waitress and another seemed to busy getting the place ready for customers arriving later. A waitress walked right by us at least three times while we sat with empty plates; no offer of dessert or pick up of the plates. Finally, we got up and went to the front counter to pay our bill.
The food was quite tasty but not good enough to warrant a return trip given the bad service; we can find food on par with Rel-ish elsewhere with much friendlier and attentive staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Rel-ish, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your experience was. As the owner I appreciate your comments. I addressed this during our staff meeting and have made sure they know it is unexceptable. Thank you again, I do recommend next time you have problems in a restaurant to bring it to the managers attention before you leave. This way they can fix the issue right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

After hearing amazing things about this place I convinced my chef of a bf to come here for his birthday. It was busy. We were seated at the bar gladly and were going to have a drink and wait for the next table. We sat and sat and sat. We finally recieved our drinks. Awesome idea for pressed coffee but we weren't informed that there would be a wait. It was great to watch the chefs perform but there was no hello or smile from them. They seemed tired or not in the mood. We weren't talked to by our server for 20-30 mins and there was empty tables so we moved to one. I eventually asked if we could order at least an appy and she apologized saying she was getting us the nice table at the front. It was sweet of her but we had no idea what the plan was. The Caesar was delicious and my bf enjoyed the calamari. The mains came and we both were disappointed. My burger looked like it had fallen apart and put back together. We weren't quality checked. When our server came back she instantly offered to take the mains off our bill. We didn't ask. This was great and unexpected. So maybe an off night for relish? I think ill try the lunch menu next time. Thank you for recognizing we weren't happy and doing what you could

Helpful?
Thank Appreciates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Rel-ish, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It was unfortunate to hear of your experience. I am very happy that my front of house staff regonized the problem and did all they could to fix it. These things happen during high volume service hours. The slow season is hard to predict and staff for. We will address this issue and be sure to fix it quickly. Thanks for helping us move forward and learn with our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a great Osso Boco. Great wines... And we were able to sample before picking our bottles. Great and charming service. Not a big place ( 35 seats) and very popular so reservations are recommender

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkcoverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Rel-ish, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for rating us on trip advisor. We appreciate your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great meals and service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being in Nelson on business for over a week meant I ate just about everywhere in the city! I visited Rel-ish 3 times and could have gone more often, as the food is superb, the service is wonderful, and it is reasonably priced. The salads are a meal unto themselves!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthCampbellvilleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Owner at Rel-ish, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for responding on trip advisor. Every comment and rating helps us become more consistent in our food, service and atmosphere. We take every comment either positive or negative and make the appropriate changes necessary to keep growing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rel-ish also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rel-ish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing