We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more organization”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blaylock Mansion
Ranked #1 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I made reservations to stay at Blaylock at the end of November. We arrived and the place was dark and no one was there! It turned out the owners confused our reservation with someone else's and cancelled ours...we were bummed and they were out of town. Thankfully the Best Western in Nelson was gracious enough to let us stay there for 2 nights on such a short notice. Needless to say this place needs more organization when dealing with reservations...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Megan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bironside, Owner at The Blaylock Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are very sorry that your reservation was mistakenly cancelled. We close the Estate for much of the winter haven't had systems in place for the off season. This is completely unacceptable and I am currently in the process of hiring an online booking and reservation management system. We hope to have this up and running within 60 days.
I would like to offer you 50% off your next nights stay to come back and allow our staff and estate to try "wow" you as we do most of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had noticed the mansion on an earlier trip through the Kootenays and when I Googled it, discovering its rich history and "touring" it via the virtual tour, I knew I had to experience it. I wasn't disappointed! Dan and Louise are excellent hosts and ambassadors for this fairy tale place - a relic from a bygone era of elegance and beauty. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I stayed on the lakeside of the mansion, which give a view of the lake but also the traffic going by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a great experience at Blaylock's B&B Elegant mansion with interesting history, outstanding location and gardens.The hosts, Dan and Louise do all they can to make for a wonderful experience and the breakfasts are phenomenal. If you can, you must stay here and also contribute to maintain the history of an iconic mansion in the history of British Columbia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to be able to get a room at the last minute at Blaycock mansion. It is a lovely home with a beautiful garden and great pool for a refreshing dip. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day and our hosts were very welcomming during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the amazing setting, stunning grounds, breathtaking gardens, rooms with history at your fingertips, right down to Danny and Louise's special attention to every detail at breakfast - especially the Organic Blaylock Blend Granola, this was a fabulous experience for the entire family. The kids loved the pool and were welcome to explore the grounds. The elegance of the mansion was so beautiful and yet the entire family was made to feel at home. Enjoyed a wonderful massage in the spa in the sunroom of the mansion. Would easily recommend to others and will definitely be back! Didn't even get to the tennis court... Too busy enjoying the pool, gardens, access to the lake and easy access to Nelson.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBeamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I rented Blaylock's Mansion for our wedding. The mansion has 1 large "Presidential" suite, and 6 other smaller rooms. We used the large suite for ourselves, and put our wedding party up in the rest of the mansion. We all stayed at the mansion for 3 nights, and we had our wedding photos, ceremony, and reception all on site.

The venue is fantastic. The scenery is gorgeous, and there are lots of places for great photos. The grounds include a very nice rock garden, a tennis court, a pool, and several grassy areas for fun and games. The rooms are a little 80's, but very comfortable.

The breakfast served each morning was also great. Delicious home made granola, fresh coffee and juice, and usually some sort of egg dish. They were very accommodating to the vegetarians we had in the group.

The one downside was the fact that the owner's family as well as the family of the couple who runs the B&B are often on site during the summer. While they kept to themselves and were very good about letting us have priority on the facilities when we wanted them, it was definitely a less "private" feeling than we were expecting having rented the entire grounds for the weekend. The owners and operators made a great effort to give our party our space, but a little prior warning would have been appreciated.

Overall, I would highly recommend Blaylock's Mansion. Either as a wedding venue, or as a great place to stay in Nelson for a few days. We will be returning for our anniversaries for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were traveling through Nelson a few weeks ago (July 2013) and decided to see if the Blaylock Mansion could accommodate us on a last minute request. Although they aren't really set up to accommodate people with pets they graciously made an exception for us as we were far from home and traveling with our small dog Elvis. We had a wonderful stay and Louise couldn't have been more accommodating. The Mansion, the grounds and Louise's wonderful hospitality made for an amazing visit to Nelson and to the Kootenays. We are regular visitors to the area and we will be certain to return.
David, Ruby & Elvis

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvis-Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.9 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blaylock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blaylock Mansion

Address: 1679 3a Hwy | P.O. Box 491, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6J7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $119 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blaylock Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaylock Mansion sits on 44 acres, 13 of which are beautifully manicured gardens with ponds, reflecting pools and waterfalls. The Tudor revival mansion is majestic and awe-inspiring. Located so close to Nelson, you get the best, serenity and seclusion with town amenities just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Blaylock Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing