We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B. excellent hosts and location.”
Review of Beach Taghum B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Taghum B&B
Ranked #4 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Beach Taghum B & B. the first night was in the Heron Room. It has two twin beds that are very comfortable. We were able to stay the next two nights in the Kingfisher Suite. It is huge and beautifully decorated. The hosts, Willa and Harold are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. They even let us use their canoe, kayak and small boat. This was great as it made our stay feel like we were at home. Thanks again.
The full hot breakfasts were scrumptious and very filling. Delicious. The beach and grassed yard are beautiful and we loved the closeness of the beach and the privacy. The hot tub was a bonus.
We will definitely be back. We are hoping to bring more of our family in the summer of 2013 so that they can experience this little piece of heaven also.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic-Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we enjoyed meeting you and hopefully you'll come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We got this booking last minute while at an info centre and could not have been more pleased. The Kingfisher room was quiet and elegant. We were in the final few days of a month-long vacation throughoout Alberta and BC and this was a delightful find on the final leg of that trip. Willa and Harold are warm and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing - we had been told that and word-of-mouth accounts did not lie! We were also thankful that Willa was agreeable to serving breakfast early (7:30am) so we could get an early start on our departure day - not something all B&B operators will accommodate. We look forward to a return visit. Bonuses - hot tub outside the back door, and a common room with a full-size fridge and flat screen television.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher room has a separate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormie_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hi - thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly appreciate hearing how we're doing and hopefully we'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I recently spent three nights in the Kingfisher room. It's charming and cozy and has all the warm touches you hope to find in a B&B. We were on a fairly long road trip and brought a lot of our own food. It was nice to have the common guest kitchen to keep food in the fridge/freezer and to prepare lunches and picnics. The weather was gorgeous during our stay so much time was spent lounging down by their private beach. Harold and Willa made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. They offered us the use of their canoe and bicycles and provided great tips on hiking trails and the best local restaurants or misc. sights not to be missed. The breakfasts were AMAZING!!! They are simply wonderful hosts and in fact when we went to our next B&B (less than stellar) along our trip, we both said "We miss Willa & Harold!".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunStarved67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thanks so much for the wonderful comments. We so enjoy our guests and it's so rewarding to see this great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay in the beautiful Kingfisher room. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the many books in the lounge area He was entertained for most of the evening. The view is spectular and looking over the water is so serene! We were fortunate enough to share our breakfast with Willa and could have chatted for hours with her! Thank you so much for the wonderful stay and looking very forward to the next time we are in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for the Kingfisher room with its own private entrance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhopkyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We so enjoyed your company and do hope you'll have a return trip to Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in the Kingfisher Room. We loved having our own private entrance and view of beautiful gardens, lake and mountains. The room was very comfortable, large and well-equipped. En suite bathroom was also spacious. Excellent guest lounge with big-screen tv and kitchenette facilities.
Willa and Harold are the most welcoming hosts in every way! Scrumptious breakfasts!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. It's so nice to be appreciated and we do try to accommodate our guests. Hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was my third trip to Beach Taghum, having stayed before when I came to visit a dear family member. She recently passed away, and when we made our plans to come for her funeral I knew where I wanted us to stay. We were able to book the Kingfisher room this time, which oerlooks the gardens, beach, water and mountains, and has it's own private entrance.

On our 5 day stay, my husband and I were able to do the things we wanted and needed to do, then had this beautiful space to return to - to laugh, grieve, and relive memories. It was a sanctuary, and only minutes from downtown Nelson!

Harold and Willa were always warm and welcoming - very gracious hosts. The breakfasts were delicious: homemade breads, preserves, granola - and the tastiest egg dishes...as well as her mother-in-law's famous pancakes! All breakfasts were hearty, delicous, nutritious and very satisfying. We stayed at another B&B on our way back, and that just highlighted how special this place is. There were many special touches. We enjoyed the hot tub, the gardens, the beach, and the common area - which we had all to ourselves, as we were the only ones there this early in the season. It was a home away from home (except this one was in paradise :-)

We highly recommend Beach Taghum, and we will certainly return!

Room Tip: I've stayed in all three rooms. While all are comfortable, well appointed and have the same bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlisse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review. It certainly was a pleasure to meet the two of you and we hope you'll come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived unexpectedly and were given a very warm welcome. Willa and Harold were eager to share their love of the region and were able to advise us on places to visit and good dining. We had a lovely room with very comfortable beds and there was a very spacious lounge with kichen facilities for the use of guests.

Because our visit was early in the season we weren't able to take full advantage of this beautiful lakeshore property. Boating and swimming would have been available in the summer months. Our intention was to stay for one night and we ended up staying for three. .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachtaghum, Owner at Beach Taghum B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review. We do try to accommodate our guests in every way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Taghum B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Taghum B&B

Address: 3289 Granite Rd, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6X8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $100 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet accommodation on the waterfront. Bedrooms have quality bedding & linens and all have private bath. Enjoy our lily and fish pond, barbecue and outdoors hot tub. Full varied breakfast using organic and the freshest of ingredients. Homemade breads and jams. Taxes and full hot breakfast included in rate. Guest lounge with kitchenette and 50" TV. Level entry and off street parking. Minutes from downtown Nelson. Markets, Shopping, Skiing, Golf, Hiking and water sports close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Taghum B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing