We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and what a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast

Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and what a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Grand Lakefront B&B was an excellent place to stay. It is up overlooking the water and mountains. Views from our room's private deck were fantastic, a great place to share a glass of the local wine on a warm afternoon. Virginia was an excellent hostess, with lots of good ideas on walking and resturants. Our room was comfortable with room to sit, play cards, and wireless access as well. Breakfast was served in the round turret area of the old house - it is decorated beautifully with great gardens to explore. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Grand for three nights in August 2011...what a wonderful, spacious, comfortable, lovely place it was! Ours was the Dijon room--we had our own entrance, a large deck overlooking the lake, all the comforts of home and amazing hosts! The house and gardens are beyond lovely...I could have spent many an hour just walking around admiring the sights. The Grand is convenient to shopping, gas stations, downtown attractions and the residential areas of Nelson. Breakfasts are amazing and served in a beautiful sunroom by a consummate host--Virginia is a wealth of information about Vernon and a delightful woman who makes her guests feel special and welcome. We will stay with she and Duncan the next time we are through Vernon, only THIS time, it will be for a week!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLF8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you want to get a sense of how Canadians view their 'heritage homes' then a stay here is a must. We stayed for 4 nights in the Master and Dijon rooms. Both have a shared private entrance and balconies with absolutely fantastic views. A fridge is provided on the balcony which was very useful for sitting out with a nice cold drink at the end of a busy day. The hosts were away and the house was being looked after by their niece who was very friendly and made us some lovely breakfasts. That being said, coming from the UK we found the furnishings to be over fussy and bit of a dust trap! Obviously the owner is an inveterate collector of 'stuff' - the dining room was a constant delight to us every morning as there was always something new to discover. We particularly liked the new and old portraits of the Queen and the dead orchid on the spare table! This is a very quirky house and I wish we had been able to meet the owner as I'm sure the house will reflect her personality. The only negative we had was the rather dangerous light fitting attached to the bedhead in the Dijon Room - we ended up unplugging it.

Room Tip: The Dijon and Master Rooms have fabulous views and balconies - great for 2 couples travelling togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inchmeaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Charming house, spacious rooms, warm and friendly hostess/owner, good location, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B with our Australian friends while touring them around to see a bit of BC. We were in the Master Suite and our friends in the Dijon Suite. Each of these suites had its own entrance at the back which we really appreciated. There was a small deck which we shared overlooking the Lake. The Dijon Suite had the better view of the lake and the Master Suite was slightly larger I think. Virginia and Duncan were friendly, knowledgeable hosts and Virginia made us the perfect breakfasts for the two mornings we were there! We also fell in love with Milton the cat! What a gorgeous addition to a warm and friendly home! The B&B is walking distance to town (town is, however, up quite a hill but it felt good to walk to town to have dinner and then walk off some of the dinner on the way back). My husband and I love Nelson anyway and were thrilled to find this gem with beautiful views of the Osprey fishing in the lake. There is a huge green area in front of the lake and we enjoyed watching the kids playing soccer with the blue lake behind them. Very picturesque! Would highly recommend this B&B. One caveat, there is a train that runs by sometime in the very early morning. We heard it the first night but slept through it the second night!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1413 Front St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing