We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent one night here on a busy weekend. The front desk receptionist (Colleen) was exceptionally helpful and friendly. She let us look at a couple of different rooms, and we chose a ground floor room which had a nice little patio overlooking the marina. Our room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable. The hallway is a little noisy at night - as is the AC unit. We did not use the pool or gym, so I have no input regarding those amenities. It is an expensive property, but the location, views and service made the cost a bit more acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtmama753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to our team. They will be happy to hear you enjoyed their service and the amenities of our property. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful Nelson, BC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 480 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice waterfront location with great view, within walking distance of the old town. Good bed and fine room, but ... Bright light burned all night on the balcony, blackout curtains were not wide enough to cover the windows and there was none for the balcony door. Light shone through the Venetian blinds. Management could partially fix this immediately, by shutting off those lights at a reasonable hour. Tip -- use the enormous cushion from the bed to block the gap in the drapes, prop it up on a chair with one of the superfluous pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your compliments and feedback. I apologize that the blackout curtains need adjustment. I will work with our maintenance staff to address this problem. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to enjoy our property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our theme room was very fancy and romantic, the room was very modern and the staff were both very cheerful and helpful. The view from our room was amazing, however the light on our belcony was more of a pain than anything. As soon as it was dark, the chances of enjoying a nice glass of wine outside slip away. Moths were all over the light and in turn made it impossible to sit outside at night. That being said, there was nothing stopping us from walking through the parks with our "coffee mugs" enjoying the wonderful calm and relaxed Nelson atmosphere. If the the morning view from the restaraunt wasnt the icing on the cake, an appointment with the spa in the morning most definitely was!

Room Tip: Theme rooms on the lake side make for a very romantic evening especially after a walk through the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is always rewarding to hear how guests enjoyed our hospitality and accommodations. It will be my pleasure to pass on your compliments. Nelson is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway and we hope that you will consider us again the next time you need a break to yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a room through hotel.com site for 200 dollars (with tax). When we get at the hotel a young receptionist called a senior collegue asking her: "look at this reservation? only 200 dollars per night? is it possible?" and the other collegue: "that's weird" (me: astonished) and then she told me: "oh, you've had a great deal". They gave us the worst room ever, road-side, zero floor etc. The only positive thing that I can find is that the hotel is located on the river-lake and then the Ric's Restaurant (great view as well). The hotel has proved far below our standards and the rooms should not cost so much. We respect all the other reviews but for us it has been one of the worst hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thedeliciousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Our hospitality professionals are highly trained to accommodate all our guests’ needs. It is unfortunate that due to our occupancy levels we were unable to accommodate your requests for upgrades. International travel is always challenging and I apologize that our beautiful property and the room you reserved did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was a family road trip, one day turned into two, then three, and four! We planned a hotel in Vernon one night but decided very late in the afternoon that we couldn't actually make it to Vernon and decided it was best to stay in Nelson. It was a family trip with my 6 year old, my husband and my mother-in-law, so it couldn't just be a cheap, roof-over-our-head, kinda place. Little did we know there was a huge music festival going on in Nelson and hotels were going faster than the mosquito's were biting. We were recommended to go to The Prestige Inn along the highway and when we walked in the door, we were greeted by Devon. She is a remarkably resourceful and kind human being! After she told us she didn't have a room for us, she made several calls to comparable hotels around and they were all sold out as well. Meeting Devon set the tone for the rest of our stay in Nelson. After we told her that we would have to increase our budget if we didn't want to sleep in our car, she decided to call her sister-hotel in Vernon... The Prestige Resort. Devon called over and reserved the last room for us. Driving up to the Prestige, we were beginning to think this was a night we were going to pay for... literally! It was over our budget by $80.00, gorgeous and way beyond our expectations of a quick family road-trip. It was a night we will not forget... such a treat! Two very pleasant young ladies met us with smiles, Dana and Melanie. We mentioned Devon sent us and they knew exactly what we needed and how desperate we were. Not only did the company offer an amazing discount for my mother-in-law being a senior (15%), they still threw in the vouchers for breakfast! That alone was an $80 savings. Money aside... the service and atmosphere that the Prestige provided us was the biggest treat! You just don't get service like that anywhere. It's nice that there are some companies that understand good customer service is worth training for! Even our breakfast server, Jenny was gracious - didn't mind checking on us several times. No request was a wasted trip. We were so happy and satisfied with our impulsive trip lay over, we felt like we needed to do something to show our appreciation. My husband and I made a quick trip to the grocery store, that was all that was open by the time we got our group settled in the amazing rooms. We picked up some pretty Gerber Daisies for the ladies and returned to The Inn to give one to Devon. If she didn't try so hard to find us a room, we might have been driving through the night with a cranky 6 year old and a disappointed mother-in-law... need I say more. In fact, our third night's stay was in Vernon and the Village Green Hotel and it was the lowest part of our road trip... we should have looked up the Prestige Inn once we got to Vernon... Thanks Dana, Melanie, and Jenny - your service was amazing! And SUPER Thanks to Devon for being so understanding and helpful... you made our trip! It was a shame that we actually ran into people that truly didn't appreciate the great service, there was a few 'snooty' people along the way - patrons though, definitely not staff!! Ungrateful people at that!! What a great family treat!

Room Tip: Although the hotel prices may be out of budget, consider the pluses, discounts and don't forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dione L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to Dana, Melanie, Jenny, and of course Devon. Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased that you were able to experience superior service at two of our properties. We look forward to welcoming you back at any of our locations for more great memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is exceptional, right from the moment we checked in in to when we had to leave.
The staff are so friendly and welcoming, made us feel like home. Both Colleen and Dana went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They were very informative about the area and gave us good tips on sightseeing and dining.
We had a king size suite which faced the lake which was immaculate, housekeeping did a wonderful job.
The bed so comfy,soft sheets and perfect pillows. Towels were soft also, and great toilettries,same as they use in the spa.
Ric's grill the onsite restaurant was ok for breakfast,but dinner overall was good.
Wish we didn't have to leave, but would certainly stay here again if we are back this way.
Best stay out our whole road trip.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake and Marina,worth the extra price,so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee8934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Colleen, Dana and the rest of the team were pleased to assist in making your trip to Nelson memorable. They all work very hard to ensure the accommodations exceed their guests’ expectations and enjoy helping visitors experience all that the area has to offer. Thank you for recognizing them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel was beautiful, The rooms were clean and very modern with a beautiful balcony over looking Kootenay lake, The bed was very comfortable, great leather furniture in the suite. Bathroom was very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The view from our balcony was the best in town with a nice walking path out front along the lake to go to the beach. Nice coffee shop inside too. I would definately recommend this place to anyone passing through Nelson.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your high praise. We work very hard to provide our guests with exceptional accommodation and superior service. I know our team looks forward to your next visit to Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Lakeside Resort

Address: 701 Lakeside Dr, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $137 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prestige Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of stunning Kootenay Lake, our full service resort and convention centre offers exquisite deluxe rooms and designer suites. Onsite features include restaurant, lounge, fitness centre, indoor pool/hot tub, day spa, boutique shops and full service marina. Lifestyle and Getaway packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestige Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Lakeside Hotel Nelson
Prestige Lakeside Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing