We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Comfortable”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2007

September 2006
My wife and I visited Nelson BC and stayed at the 'Inn The Garden' B & B just off the city down town . We chose this guest house because we could just walk to all the attractions and eateries and not use the car (They have off street parking at the B & B) . The English hosts were very welcoming and very helpful with out being intrusive . The room was so clean and neat we felt that we were the first to use it , and it was the same standard on each of our 6 day visit . The breakfast was excellent and generous and we dined with other guests , which was so much better than the small seperate tables typical in the UK .

Nelson is a delight for a small town . An excellent selection of shops , galleries , eateries , entertainment and a warm welcom from all we met . There are many testing trails to walk or cycle and good circular drives to other towns etc. - and the weather was in the 20s and sunny - wonderful .

We will certainly try to visit the Kootenays again and most certainly stay at 'Inn The Garden' .

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank CHAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2006

We first stayed at this place when travelling through the Kootenays on our way to Vancouver, off the beaten track of Highway 1. It was one of few places listed in Lonely Planet, and as it's so central, with everything within walking distance, we didn't need to search around.

The owners could not have been more welcoming, and confirmed our positive first impressions from seeing the impressive building and it's lovely garden. We were checked in quickly, given as much information on the town as we needed (they didn't push anything on us) and into our room in 5 minutes. They could have talked more, but I think that they judged what we wanted pretty well - and that's one of our concerns about B&Bs: getting stuck with overpoweringly 'friendly' owners.

Our room had a great view out to the lake and mountains and was totally, totally spotless (another concern with B&Bs). There wasn't a mark in the private bathroom either, and the towels were fresh and the mattress spot on. Apparently it's a very busy place, but you wouldn't have known anyone else had ever been in the room.

It is a modern set up, with none of the Victorian chintz you get in some old houses. In fact the owners are clearly world travellers - which is why the Lonely Planet liked them, I suppose. Breakfast was huge and mostly home-cooked - this palce would have cost us twice what we paid back home in Europe.

To top it all, Nelson is beautiful, and a funky little avant-garde heritage town to boot. Wish we would afford to get to BC and Canada more often!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank deltakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2004

We wanted to find a romantic get-away that was not too far from home to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Inn the Garden is the first bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in, and we will definitely be back! My hesitation in staying at B&B's was my impression that they would be too fussy. I hate having people fuss over me, and my husband and I are so independent we were wary of being "tied-down" to a B&B setting. But Inn the Garden was a wonderful experience! We had the freedom to come and go as we pleased, the owner was friendly, helpful, but not at all intrusive or "fussy." We also enjoyed the company of other travellers from Holland at our morning breakfast, which would never happen in a regular hotel setting. We enjoyed a beautiful view of Nelson from our spacious room. We had our own private bath just down the hall (I read the website at innthegarden , so I brought a robe and slippers, and it was no problem!).It was nice that the main house is "adult oriented," but we are glad there is a guest cottage next door so we can bring our kids back with us next time we come. The guest cottage is a totally seperate house right next door, with 3 bedrooms and a full kitchen. All the fixin's for breakfast are provided to the cottage, so it will be great for a family with young kids! We're planning to bring grandma and grampa, too! We highly recommend "Inn the Garden" on all counts. The price, the location (just a block off of Baker, where the food and shops are superb), and the hospitality were all 5 star!

4  Thank My_Karma_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2004

I can't believe it's been nearly 5 years since my boyfriend and I stayed here. Keep that in mind, since places and their quality can change with time.
I booked the weekend as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday, so I picked what I hoped would be a nice atmosphere for us - and I got it!
The house is on a hill behind the main street, so that the front door is up a staircase through the garden, but the back door opens to the 2nd floor. The rooms are so lovely and comfortable, homey without losing that special feel. We had a room with the bathroom separate, but were given the key to one two doors down so that we still had privacy. The hostess couldn't have been nicer about breakfasts, especially for my boyfriend who is very fussy about his eggs. We never felt that we were being watched or fussed over, but were always welcome to ask should we need anything or have questions.
Sorry my memory doesn't have more to it, I just remember and absolutely beautiful place to stay. I couldn't believe this place had no reviews! Now we just have to go again!

5  Thank cookofthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tvdh15092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing