We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here when you're in Nelson!”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Stay here when you're in Nelson!”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Chris was most accommodating, providing extra help and advice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and location couldn't be any better. An excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
192
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

From the word go the host Chris was very friendly, helpful and informative. The first thing we noticed was the cleanliness of the entire house. We really enjoyed the presentation of the rooms including the travellers theme that runs throughout the house. Chris and Sally have travelled extensively and this is reflected in the furnishings and photos on the walls. The only downside (a minor one) was having to walk down the hallway to get to the bathroom. On the upside the bathrooms were stocked with many useful things you forget as a traveller - ie. eye makeup remover, cotton tips, etc (thank goodness for a female touch). The breakfast was good although a little more basic than others we have come to expect from B&Bs in Canada. The highlight of the breakfasts were the freshly cooked muffins and there was certainly enough food to satisfy any hungry traveller. The location was excellent - most of the shops were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgilbert79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review for us - hope to be able to look after you again one day.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Had a very nice stay at the Cloudside Inn. Chris and his wife were excellent, very helpful with information. My wife and son enjoyed the living space and computer access. The location is a block from restaurants on Baker Street. Chris spent quite a bit of time answering all of our questions. Rooms were very nice, excellent meals.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auggiemctavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank-you for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This charming bed and breakfast inn is very conveniently situated close to the centre of beautiful Nelson, BC -- yet still off the main street, so it's nice and quiet! There are many tastefully decorated rooms (see the Cloudside's own website) - I was in the lovely Cedar Room, which faces the West Arm of Kootenay Lake. The breakfast was delicious. My only regret is that I did not plan to stay longer ... hearing the menu for the breakfasts I would miss was torture! The hosts are welcoming and gracious, and the home itself is filled with interesting artifacts, photographs, and art pieces from their own world-wide travels.
I will definitely be returning to this gem!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntzb-athome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
I really appreciate that you added some photos for us (especially since we have moved the bed to face the mountains since we took the photo which is on our own website). Thank-you for your generous comments.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B. C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Cloudside Inn during mid-May. Particularly appreciated the hospitality, comfortable room, great breakfasts, guest lounge with internet access and convenient downtown location with off street parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The title of this review would be somewhat meaningless without a few telling remarks about the reviewers. As two Toronto litigation lawyers in need of maximizing any time off, this place lingers as a fantastic memory of our stay in Nelson. We were impressed with the spotlessness of the room and the thoughtful art pieces throughout the home. Tasteful, urban decor and cozy all 'round.

We stayed in the Willow room (the biggest one with the option of breakfast in the room). The breakfast was delicious, prompt and luxurious on its rolling cart with beautiful presentation. What was supposed to be hot was piping hot (coffee, tea, hot breakie when offered) when rolled into the room at the requested hour. The highlight was Chris & Sally's egg baked in ham on an English muffin.

The kitchen area in the bedroom had a kettle, selection of teas, etc., wine glasses, mugs, cups and spoons and there was milk ready in the mini fridge-- Note the attention to detail.

The bathroom had (what we guess as) wonderful bamboo flooring and thoughtful placing of hooks here & there- just where we felt one should be!

Both Chris and Sally are warm and delightful and we are so happy that we will be able to go back to their inn in the near future. We hope Cloudside will continue to receive rave reviews!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
I know how busy you must be, so thank-you so much for taking some time from your schedule to write so much for us. Your comments on the details are especially appreciated - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My friend and I stayed in the large room at the top of the house. The size was teriffic and the 2 bedrooms were perfect for us. The room was spotless, very well appointed and comfortable. There was ample parking, and right in the heart of downtown close to everything we wanted to see. It was nice and quiet and we loved meeting new people from all over the world at the scrumptious breakfast. The hospitality and service from Chris and Sally was fantastic. They really made us feel welcome. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugs4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Glad that we managed to make you feel so at home; thank-you for your kind comments about the Tamarack Apartment. Have a lovely summer!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing