We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliably excellent”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Chris and Sally have an immaculate and tasteful old home on a quiet street two blocks from the main nelson boutique-y area of town
they are thoughtful, gracious hosts
the patios were full of lovely flowers
we always walk to have dinner at Bibo
we always stay here (4 times now)
the patios and living room area are cozy and add enough extra space
breakfast is great
we even arrange our travel to fit Nelson into the trip
we stay in the Fir room, which is really tiny, but very quiet and has a very nice private bath

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elderlyones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 369 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom unit on the top floor. This was great as it had a great view over the lake and also private entry. The unit was spacious and spotlessly clean with lots of little (and much appreciated) extras. The breakfast (sittings at 8am and 9am) was delicious and sitting around a large table allowed us to share stories with other travelers. There was also a lovely deck at the rear that was a lovely spot to sit and share a drink and stories with others.

Room Tip: The two bedroom unit was ideal for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BundyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our third stay at the cloudside inn, every time is as good as the previous, the inn is an immaculate georgeous old house with character , the rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfasts are always tasty and filling. Chris and Sally are very friendly and welcoming and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

It was equally a pleasure to have you folks back! I hope that your decisions on where to live work themselves out, and that you are soon back to walking more easily. Thanks for looking us up again when visiting Nelson.

With regards,

Sally and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Three of us (parents and adult child) shared the top floor apartment at the Cloudside Inn and were very pleased with our night there. The apartment was spacious (although the bathroom is small) and comfortable. We didn't really need the kitchen as we were only there one night, but it was well equipped for a longer stay. The folder with restaurant information was very helpful, and we enjoyed chatting to Chris at breakfast time. Breakfast was very good. The Inn is centrally-located and within easy walking distance of the town centre (though it is a hilly town so pretty well everything involves a climb in one direction or another!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libra_K1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank-you for posting a good review about Cloudside Inn. Hopefully, the top floor just got a little bit better too, as we have just installed a large new front window which has improved that great view down the valley. We really appreciate that you took some time to write on TripAdvisor.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday. When I made the reservation I told them it was my boyfriends bday.... They left chocolates in the room for him.. So so sweet!!!! The room was really nice! We had a lovely stay. It was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was so good!! Had great time!! Will be staying here again!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Justine1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Very kind of you to take the time to review us, and we are glad that you boyfriend's birthday was a good one!

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed 1 night at this delightful B and B with my girlfriend.
We stayed in the Aspen room, it was not huge but the size was no problem for the two of us. It has a private bathroom beside the room itself.
All rooms have beautiful decor and the bed was super comfy. The property is right in the centre of downtown Nelson and it is very clean and well presented.
The owners are very personable and friendly, and seem willing to go out of there way to make sure you have a fantastic stay. And the breakfast was to die for...keep up the good work.
Would highly recommend Cloudside Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Sorry it has taken me a while to respond - I am very pleased that you had a good time at the Cloudside. Thanks for your comments about breakfast too - that's why they don't let me out of the kitchen...I have to keep on flipping those pancakes....

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Yet another glowing endorsement of this inn!! We stayed here for four nights on a ski trip to Nelson and I was very sad to have to leave. We had a lovely time on our trip and our stay at Cloudside was a big reason why. We have travelled all over BC and Alberta ski towns staying at similar type properties and Cloudside definitely sets the bar very high. The location is excellent - walking distance to all things of interest in town. Each room is unique and very lovely - we enjoyed sneaking peaks of the furnishings/decor of each one as we passed by. Our room/bathroom was spotless. I had the best sleeps I have ever had at a hotel/B&B; I am a very light sleeper but was never disturbed which surprised me given the age of the heritage property. The delicious breakfasts are different each day and offered plenty of fruits/veggies which are often lacking in other places. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I truly felt that Chris and Sally went WAY above and beyond to be accommodating and welcoming to their guests. Running a business like this means that the owners presence/personality contributes greatly to each guest's experience - Chris and Sally get this and set a shining example for everyone else in the industry. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCorbett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We are very glad that we could meet your expectations and make your trip to Nelson a great one. Thank-you for choosing to stay with us.

Chris and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing