We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming heritage B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming heritage B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had a very pleasant 5 day stay at the Cloudside Inn , my room the "Cedar" was airy,spacious and well appointed. My personal bathroom was down the hall and had it's own lock,a bit of a walk in the middle of the night but not a problem for me. The ceiling fan was excellent and silent,I didn't require the air conditioner even in August weather.
I was especially impressed with the high level of maintenance throughout the building,the rooms were spotless and common areas well designed.
Check In was a breeze, as was check out.
The location is central,quiet and around the corner from my favorite coffee shop, Oso Negro.
My friend and I enjoyed a few outdoor meals on the back patio deck,wine and local gourmet foods.....other folks used the deck for morning yoga.
Breakfasts were wholesome,good and plentiful. The daily fresh fruit salad was my favorite and Chef Chris kindly prepared special diet breakfasts for me.
I'm hoping to return soon with my husband and rent the suite or the top floor apartment.Nelson has a lot to offer, beauty,hiking,boating,Coolness and the Cloudside Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannamva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
191
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We award 5 stars for a great stay in Nelson at The Cloudside Inn. I was able to see most of the rooms in this B&B and found them all to be well appointed, pretty and clean just as our own room was. Bathrooms are spotless; our bed was comfortable. The house is well marked and in a convenient location to walk 2 blocks to Baker Street where many restaurants and shops are located. Our hosts, Sally and Chris, were very nice and the breakfast offered to us the following morning was good.

A note about parking. This B&B offers parking to guests located in the alley running behind the property. Thank goodness, as it is challenging to find street parking for your vehicle in the afternoon and evenings.

Nelson is a town well-developed for visitors all year round and the Cloudside Inn is certainly one of the little gems here. We’ll be returning to explore more of Nelson and will stay again at this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs with the exception of The Willow Suite, which is located on the first floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a turn of the century duplex that has been combined and turned into a 7 room B&B. The night we were there the Inn was full but it certainly didn't feel crowded at all. The room was spacious, has an air conditioner as well as a ceiling fan and windows that open! We chose a room with a shared bathroom (not a usual choice) however was very pleased with the notes to users about being respectful to the next person and providing cloths to wipe down the sink and tub if this was used. Our room didn't have a TV which was a nice change as when you travel the days are so busy that it was nice just to decompress. 12 hours later, it was breakfast and what a breakfast! Hand/home made fruit salad, same for the 2 types of granola, yogurt, cereal, beverages and a wonderful huge dining table. That was just the first part, then they came around and asked what of the hot items we would like. Everything was cooked to each persons request, served hot & fresh. I'll certainly stay there again and tell anyone going that direction to make Nelson their stop for the night and stay at the Cloudside!

Room Tip: I would have to say that all the rooms seem equally as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our recent three-night stay at the Cloudside B&B.

The location is great, close to restaurants and shops. We stayed in the Willow Suite which was roomy and comfortable,with a spacious en suite. Chris and his staff were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was first-rate.

We would definitely return to the Cloudside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154914Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend night here, stayed in the Aspen room. Gracious hosts, great location, very nice back patio. Hearty cookies when we arrived, yummy breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleasant owners ,room clean,however very tiny,decor confusing only feature besides well worn IKEA furniture was giant AC unit on floor with giant hose to window . Price was getting into in hotel range, rather than what I would expect from a B&B .So given limitations re acces,no ensuite bathroom etc it was really was disappointing . Highly unlikely we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Initially, we were very upset with this review, as it was so out of line with other feedback we tend to receive and the level of service we try to offer, plus the fact that it was personally insulting, which is always disappointing on public forums such as these. But there are some discrepancies which make it, we think, clearer.

First, the reviewer says that they visited us in June, when we did not have our air conditioning installed. It went in in July when the temperatures soared. Second, the room the reviewer cites has a set of matching furniture all bought locally in Nelson within the last five years, and it was stained by me, one of the owners. We do not keep 'worn' fittings in our rooms. It would be terrible if any stay was marred by confusion over the furniture, but it isn't the case in the Aspen room. It would actually be excellent to have an IKEA nearby - perhaps not for guest furniture, but for other sundries - but the nearest is eight hours away, and they don't ship to Nelson.

Despite being classified as a hotel by the City of Nelson, our prices are maintained below the local hotels - a simple web search will clarify that. And with regards to access, we are the most central accommodation in Nelson, with our own parking lot behind the house. The first guest floor is reached by just eight steps. So access isn't really a major problem for our guests. I am at a loss to know what the rather vague 'etc' comment refers to, so I cannot address that.

It is a good thing that TripAdvisor enables us to comment on reviews, and if I ever feel that we have made a mistake, or I am told that we have offered an inferior service, I will take action, including a full apology, immediately. But when the review contains so many inaccuracies, it is also helpful for us to be able to explain that this is likely not even our establishment which is being discussed (at least seven weeks after the guest stayed, allegedly).

Other guests have already queried this review with us, and two have responded, directly as a result of the comments. One even stayed in exactly the same room, and can be seen above this review. Please draw your own conclusions - furniture confusion is bad enough, but review confusion is a lot worse.

We appreciate the opportunity of being able to respond to this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing