We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay in Nelson”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay in Nelson”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend night here, stayed in the Aspen room. Gracious hosts, great location, very nice back patio. Hearty cookies when we arrived, yummy breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
192
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleasant owners ,room clean,however very tiny,decor confusing only feature besides well worn IKEA furniture was giant AC unit on floor with giant hose to window . Price was getting into in hotel range, rather than what I would expect from a B&B .So given limitations re acces,no ensuite bathroom etc it was really was disappointing . Highly unlikely we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Initially, we were very upset with this review, as it was so out of line with other feedback we tend to receive and the level of service we try to offer, plus the fact that it was personally insulting, which is always disappointing on public forums such as these. But there are some discrepancies which make it, we think, clearer.

First, the reviewer says that they visited us in June, when we did not have our air conditioning installed. It went in in July when the temperatures soared. Second, the room the reviewer cites has a set of matching furniture all bought locally in Nelson within the last five years, and it was stained by me, one of the owners. We do not keep 'worn' fittings in our rooms. It would be terrible if any stay was marred by confusion over the furniture, but it isn't the case in the Aspen room. It would actually be excellent to have an IKEA nearby - perhaps not for guest furniture, but for other sundries - but the nearest is eight hours away, and they don't ship to Nelson.

Despite being classified as a hotel by the City of Nelson, our prices are maintained below the local hotels - a simple web search will clarify that. And with regards to access, we are the most central accommodation in Nelson, with our own parking lot behind the house. The first guest floor is reached by just eight steps. So access isn't really a major problem for our guests. I am at a loss to know what the rather vague 'etc' comment refers to, so I cannot address that.

It is a good thing that TripAdvisor enables us to comment on reviews, and if I ever feel that we have made a mistake, or I am told that we have offered an inferior service, I will take action, including a full apology, immediately. But when the review contains so many inaccuracies, it is also helpful for us to be able to explain that this is likely not even our establishment which is being discussed (at least seven weeks after the guest stayed, allegedly).

Other guests have already queried this review with us, and two have responded, directly as a result of the comments. One even stayed in exactly the same room, and can be seen above this review. Please draw your own conclusions - furniture confusion is bad enough, but review confusion is a lot worse.

We appreciate the opportunity of being able to respond to this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Willow Suite. Very nice and spacious. On the first floor which means less steps to climb. Be aware that the inn is UP from the street so there are numerous steps to climb to the front door. The owner WILL help you with your luggage.
The breakfast are always good and fun. International clientele makes for interesting conversation at breakfast. Guests from Switzerland, Belgium, Scotland, and all across the USA made for a great three days. Definitely worth a stop. Convenient to downtown Nelson.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomorwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Cloudside B&B. Our room (the Aspen) was very clean and comfortable. Having an in-room air conditioner was very nice. The location is fantastic. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck patio, drinking wine and watching the BC sunset. The multi-course breakfast was very good and more than ample.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Cloudside Inn is really a great place to stay, it's very well kept, clean and organized. The hosts are English and full of typical British humor. There's airco in the rooms, they serve a great breakfast in the morning and we all received freshly baked muffins to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didohaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome, great location, fantastic rooms and period character building.Topped off with superb breakfasts served by knowledgeable hosts. Five star all the way, you wont be disappointed.A great stop off on our way through B.C.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in May 2013. Beautiful house, lovely rooms, top amenities and great location. Doesn't get much better value for money. Close to all the local cafes and restaurants. Lots of trails for walkers close by especially the pulpit rock walk and the northern rail walk. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cloudside Inn, nevertheless sorry that we didn't quite make it a 5 out of 5 experience. I am not quite sure, from your review, what we could do better next time, but we are always doing our best to improve, so if you can make it back one day hopefully you will seen the benefits of those efforts!

Chris and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing