We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topped my expectations!”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Topped my expectations!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This B&B has absolutely the highest standards in all areas, I was completely blown away by the service, the rooms, the cleanliness, comfy beds, AWESOME breakfast.
It certainly went above and beyond my expectations..and I will be back! Thank you Chris and Sally for your great hospitality

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the trouble to write a review for us. Sally and I do hope you can return, and we promise to look after you just as well on your next visit.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    43
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
197
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visit Nelson often and this was our first stay at the Cloudside. We will definitely stay again! Chris and Sally were lovely and very welcoming. We had a baby with us and they were extremely accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed - they even had a pack and play and toys in our room when we arrived. We stayed in the Tamarack apartment with another couple. The apartment was nice and very clean and had a great view. Breakfast was fabulous - the homemade granola was absolutely delicious! The location is fantastic – it’s right in the town and close to shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
All are welcome - babies too! We are happy that you had a good time, and would like to thank you for your generous comments. Hope to see you again: Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recommend this B&B 100%. We did some research before we stayed and it's #1 ranking is an understatement. We had a private bathroom, and great sheets and bedding which is very important to me. We are getting spoiled in our old age and this immaculate B&B went beyond our expectations. Internet is included and free parking which we didn't use. The living quarters of the owners were separate, and the guests have a living room and dining room available at all times to the guests. The rooms are all tastefully done and the attention to detail is amazing. We stayed in a large queen room, but there were beautiful suites and an apartment available as well. Tea and coffee were available at all times and the breakfast was unbelievable every day. We stayed for 5 nights and the breakfast was different every morning. Always fresh and homemade and we had to take something away with us every day, whether it was a cinnamon bun, whole grain cookie, or muffin,etc. The homemade granola was the best! The owner's Chris and Sally are wonderful and made us feel like we were in our own home. Our son and daughter in law from Nelson even joined us for breakfast on a couple of occasions for a very small fee for a huge breakfast. It was a block to the start of the shops and restaurants. We did not have a bad meal in the whole 5 days in Nelson. There is a great coffee shop (Oso Negro) a few doors down accommodating more dietary restriction options than I have ever seen. A definite 5 out of 5 rating!

Room Tip: They are all great. We stayed in the cedar room with a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Your praise is overwhelming (though it's always good to know that we are doing the right things). Sally and I are very pleased that you enjoyed visiting us, and your stay in Nelson. Thank-you so much for taking the time to write down your thoughts about us.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Cloudside Inn B&B is spot on. We have stayed with Chris and Sally for 3 weeks over the past 5 years or so. We like the accommodations, the food and the comaraderie very much. I titled the review with a Bit 'O Wit on purpose because Chris is British (sounds like Bear Grylls!) and quite witty. Sally is a wonderful host and they are raising their 2 lovely children out of the way of guests. You may see the daughter as she helps Chris (the consummate scone and muffin baker) deliver your mid-morning take-away snack straight out of the oven to the breakfast table.

The food that Chris prepares for breakfast is varied and wonderful. A cold and hot meal are always provided. Our friends from town are always trying to steal a piece of our snack at Whitewater.

The Inn is historic and well appointed. It looks like the bit of history that it is in cozy (and unique) Nelson BC. The rooms are of varied sizes and you always have a private bathroom, though it may be 2 doors down rather than ensuite - that is how the building is layed out and it works quite well.

There is even a huge apartment that 2 couples (or more) can rent together and have a private entrance and full kitchen to boot.

If you ski the Inn sports a large locked equipment locker by the rear car park.

Chris and Sally have traveled the world and have lovely photos from these travels on the Inn's walls. A nice touch. There is a computer and TV in the lounge which has the most comfortable sofa that we;ve even seen. I tried to "borrow" it but it would not fit in the rental car.

There are nice restaurant reviews that are constantly updated as restaurants ebb and flow within the town. There are some 30 neat places to eat within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay with Chris and Sally at the Cloudside - Rob Edwards Woodbridge CT USA

Room Tip: Great views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are flattered that your friends would wish to try and steal any of our food when you were at Whitewater, as the food on the ski mountain is known to be amongst the best in North America. So, praise indeed - I was warned so that I could make them extra for the second day, at least. It's always good to have you and your crowd in to entertain us during the middle of the ski season...work on them for next year, and perhaps you can take over the house....?

Many thanks, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Cloudside Inn is a wonderful place to stay . The owners are very accommodating . The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are great. Chris even sends you off on your journey with a freshly baked treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank-you so much for your kind words. I am glad that you made us part of your visit to Nelson.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I began a 2-week "Powder Highway" road trip with Sally and Chris at the Cloudside. Neither of us had ever stayed in a B & B before and we absolutely fell in love with the house, the set up and the service provided to us at Cloudside. Sally and Chris were delightful, breakfast was great - granola and yogurt to start followed by a warm meal (eggs, french toast, etc.), and afternoon tea was a favorite of mine after skiing. The inn is close to downtown and we were able to walk to dinner each night. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
You were such a lovely couple, it wasn't hard to look after you! Many congratulations once again, and I am glad we got you off to a good start on your trip. Look forward to seeing you again, I hope.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A charming, very clean and cozy inn just minutes from Whitewater. We booked this at the last minute to go skiing, and were very pleased. The breakfasts were excellent, the innkeeper was really helpful and informative, and seemed genuinely interested to make sure guests had an excellent stay. Not a fancy place, but immaculately clean, well priced and located in the center of town, minutes to great restaurants. Fast internet as well. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank-you so much for writing about us, and I am really pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing