We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Room For Reasonable Rate”
Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is quite nice for the rate. It certainly isn't 5 star, but given the price that should be obvious. The room was quite clean except for a large stain in the carpet. The pool was very clean and above average for hotel pools in my opinion. The breakfast included waffles which was nice. Everything about the hotel was basically what I would expect. The price however does reflect the location of the hotel - it is a fair distance from downtown nelson. On the plus side there is ample parking which is something that other hotels in the area may be missing. My main complaint would be that even though the hotel offered 4 wireless hotspots none of them seemed to work very well and even when they did work the internet was extremely slow. Despite its flaws I would still go back and would still recommend it to other travelers looking for a reasonably priced room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank actf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review actf.

First of all, sorry to hear about the stain on the carpet. The first project during the fall is adding in laminate flooring for all ground floor units that need replacement and new carpet tiles for the upper floor rooms that are in need of freshening up.

We are very fortunate to have one of the largest parking space for accommodations in town.

We originally had 5 routers for our property but in the last week we have added 3 more routers for extra coverage. Our internet speed is related to the Shaw infrastructure (which they are almost done upgrading). After speaking to them today, they informed me that the speeds will get much better in about 4 weeks time.

I hope on your next stay that these improvements will be to your satisfaction.

PS. We work really hard on keeping the swimming pool clean and are happy to hear such feedback. Thank you.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first stop on our Canadian Rockies trip and we weren't disappointed. The location was ideal for us as we wanted to take the free Balfour ferry across the Lake to continue on our trip. We met several motorcyclists who also stayed there and continued on the same route as we did. We continued to meet them several times later as well. The Villa is small enough to strike up small relationships so it is a very family-friendly motel as well. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classicalmuziclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review Classicalmuziclover.

I think it's awesome that our guests meet each other throughout the trip. Hope you had a wonderful time during your Canadian Rockies trip. I do admit, I love to talk, and I'm very happy to strike up a conversation with anyone here.

See you on your next trip out here.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Manager Frank upgraded us to a large room with king bed, for no apparent reason. Nice. Clean and very comfortable. Car parked outside room door. Price was $102 which we felt comfortable paying for this room. A bit out-dated and worn; however, the bed was so comfortable and the location was so quiet, we had one of the best nights of travel sleep ever. Frank recommended the on-site restaurant, Amanda's. It's a dive building with excellent food and a great staff. Loved it. Back to the room for hot showers (with plenty of water pressure) then watched a documentary on the 50-inch-plus TV. Morning check-out we didn't partake in the self-serve breakfast but other guests were into it and it looked/smelled great. If we ever go to Nelson again we'll stay at the Villa. Good location, too.

Room Tip: Ground floor you can park outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctor_Hemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review Doctor_Hemlock.

We enjoy going that extra step in ensuring a pleasant stay for our guest. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the comp upgrade and doubly happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Ground floor seems to be a very popular choice for our guests, great tip to the readers.

See you on your trip trip to Nelson.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Villa Motel and its staff surpassed our expectations. First, the web page was clear and easy to understand, and showed good photos of the motel with flowers blooming all around. I wondered if it was PhotoShopped to make it look so appealing. But it was true. There were fresh gardens blooming everywhere. Second, the reservation was correct. Frank and the rest of the staff are kind, helpful, and respectful. Third, the room was clean and spacious, the beds extremely comfortable, and there were a table and chairs outside our room so we could play cards in the evening. The clean pool and hot tub were very nice. As promised when we made our reservation, we were booked in a ground-floor room, and there was ample space to park our vehicle and trailer safely on the property. We enjoyed a good Chinese dinner at the restaurant on our first night's stay. My friend and I would recommend the Villa Motel to anyone wanting a comfortable and pleasant place to stay that is exactly as promised in its advertising. It was just perfect for our taste and needs, and we had a great stay in beautiful Nelson.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you Robin C for your review.

Wow, we are so delighted to hear our staff had surpassed your expectations. We are in the progress of reinventing our website to make it even clearer than it already is, by adding in more photos and information about the property.

I am very happy to hear you and your friend had a very enjoyable time with us and I hope to see you again on your next trip to Nelson.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Villa Motel, in Nelson, was our first stop on our Kootenay motorcycle road trip. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling by bike and especially if one of your traveling companions is a dog. The north entrance into the hotel is a bit of a challenge, but the southern entrance is easy. The parking area is flat and there is an area to clean your bikes. The dog loved the room and the area. There is no lacking for human comforts either. The bed was super comfortable, the room complete with microwave and fridge as well as a coffee maker and decent coffee. The bathroom and room area was very clean as was the indoor pool and hot tub. The morning breakfast was better than most motels and there were tables and chairs available outside our room where we enjoyed our breakfast and other refreshments. The nearby restaurant was very good. For the money, this is one of the best deals comfort, cleanliness, and value wise in Nelson!

Room Tip: It is advisable that you book ahead, if you want a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJM1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review OJM1276.

Yes, you have a very good tip. Although we have 20 rooms on the ground floor, they are requested the most. Also, the requests come on a first come basis on reservation date.

Yes, the southern entrance is much easier to get in and out.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. See you and your dog on your next trip out to Nelson!

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Nelson at the Villa Motel. We had a very spacious room, with 2 bedrooms and bathroom. Unfortunately, the restaurant on site was closed on Mondays (the day we stayed) and it was a bit of a trek to the main town centre. Instead, we visited a supermarket at a retail park on the far side of the park to buy food for meal. The park, just across the bridge, was lovely - with beaches alongside the river and an excellent cafe. We walked to the retail park - through a great trim trail area. On the way back, we caught the beautifully reconditioned street car back to the bridge. A really lovely stay.
The following morning, our children really enjoyed making fresh waffles for breakfast (all included!)
Unfortunately, the pool was out of order during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review S8C11.

Nice photo from the beach across the bridge! I think you captured in one shot what Nelson is about during the Summer season. We are happy to hear your children enjoyed making their own waffles in the morning. Sorry to hear the pool was under maintenance during your stay.

Happy travels and see you next time.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a motel close to Nelson then this is a great place to stop. Rooms are good. Beds were comfortabele. Owners were very friendly and helpfull. The location is not close downtown if you go walking. That will take you 45 minutes but it is a nice walk. By car it is 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you Ton966 for your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed the room and had a pleasant sleep. See you next time.

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#10 of 10 in Nelson
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Address: 655 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $80 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Motel is located right by Nelson’s Orange Bridge, with views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is ideally situated away from Nelson’s city noise with plenty of free parking while being a close 4 minute drive to Baker Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel Nelson
Villa Motel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing