We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Fairly-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fairly-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Manager Frank upgraded us to a large room with king bed, for no apparent reason. Nice. Clean and very comfortable. Car parked outside room door. Price was $102 which we felt comfortable paying for this room. A bit out-dated and worn; however, the bed was so comfortable and the location was so quiet, we had one of the best nights of travel sleep ever. Frank recommended the on-site restaurant, Amanda's. It's a dive building with excellent food and a great staff. Loved it. Back to the room for hot showers (with plenty of water pressure) then watched a documentary on the 50-inch-plus TV. Morning check-out we didn't partake in the self-serve breakfast but other guests were into it and it looked/smelled great. If we ever go to Nelson again we'll stay at the Villa. Good location, too.

Room Tip: Ground floor you can park outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor_Hemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Doctor_Hemlock.

We enjoy going that extra step in ensuring a pleasant stay for our guest. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the comp upgrade and doubly happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Ground floor seems to be a very popular choice for our guests, great tip to the readers.

See you on your trip trip to Nelson.

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    63
    33
    8
    13
See reviews for
54
61
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Villa Motel and its staff surpassed our expectations. First, the web page was clear and easy to understand, and showed good photos of the motel with flowers blooming all around. I wondered if it was PhotoShopped to make it look so appealing. But it was true. There were fresh gardens blooming everywhere. Second, the reservation was correct. Frank and the rest of the staff are kind, helpful, and respectful. Third, the room was clean and spacious, the beds extremely comfortable, and there were a table and chairs outside our room so we could play cards in the evening. The clean pool and hot tub were very nice. As promised when we made our reservation, we were booked in a ground-floor room, and there was ample space to park our vehicle and trailer safely on the property. We enjoyed a good Chinese dinner at the restaurant on our first night's stay. My friend and I would recommend the Villa Motel to anyone wanting a comfortable and pleasant place to stay that is exactly as promised in its advertising. It was just perfect for our taste and needs, and we had a great stay in beautiful Nelson.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you Robin C for your review.

Wow, we are so delighted to hear our staff had surpassed your expectations. We are in the progress of reinventing our website to make it even clearer than it already is, by adding in more photos and information about the property.

I am very happy to hear you and your friend had a very enjoyable time with us and I hope to see you again on your next trip to Nelson.

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Villa Motel, in Nelson, was our first stop on our Kootenay motorcycle road trip. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling by bike and especially if one of your traveling companions is a dog. The north entrance into the hotel is a bit of a challenge, but the southern entrance is easy. The parking area is flat and there is an area to clean your bikes. The dog loved the room and the area. There is no lacking for human comforts either. The bed was super comfortable, the room complete with microwave and fridge as well as a coffee maker and decent coffee. The bathroom and room area was very clean as was the indoor pool and hot tub. The morning breakfast was better than most motels and there were tables and chairs available outside our room where we enjoyed our breakfast and other refreshments. The nearby restaurant was very good. For the money, this is one of the best deals comfort, cleanliness, and value wise in Nelson!

Room Tip: It is advisable that you book ahead, if you want a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJM1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review OJM1276.

Yes, you have a very good tip. Although we have 20 rooms on the ground floor, they are requested the most. Also, the requests come on a first come basis on reservation date.

Yes, the southern entrance is much easier to get in and out.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. See you and your dog on your next trip out to Nelson!

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Nelson at the Villa Motel. We had a very spacious room, with 2 bedrooms and bathroom. Unfortunately, the restaurant on site was closed on Mondays (the day we stayed) and it was a bit of a trek to the main town centre. Instead, we visited a supermarket at a retail park on the far side of the park to buy food for meal. The park, just across the bridge, was lovely - with beaches alongside the river and an excellent cafe. We walked to the retail park - through a great trim trail area. On the way back, we caught the beautifully reconditioned street car back to the bridge. A really lovely stay.
The following morning, our children really enjoyed making fresh waffles for breakfast (all included!)
Unfortunately, the pool was out of order during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review S8C11.

Nice photo from the beach across the bridge! I think you captured in one shot what Nelson is about during the Summer season. We are happy to hear your children enjoyed making their own waffles in the morning. Sorry to hear the pool was under maintenance during your stay.

Happy travels and see you next time.

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a motel close to Nelson then this is a great place to stop. Rooms are good. Beds were comfortabele. Owners were very friendly and helpfull. The location is not close downtown if you go walking. That will take you 45 minutes but it is a nice walk. By car it is 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you Ton966 for your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed the room and had a pleasant sleep. See you next time.

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Initially tried to cancel reservation,manager said no way.Proceeded to my room and found it had not been cleaned since previous occupants.Terrible room,stained dirty carpet.Again asked for refund due to condition of room, Manager was very arrogant and said no refund.I will never go there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumberglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Plumberglen,

You failed to mention that you arrived at 5pm on your check-in date asking to cancel your reservation without penalty to sleep at your friend's room in town. I informed you that you may cancel, but with a very late notice, I will be charging for the cancellation.

You even threatened to make me cancel your reservation without penalty or else you would go on all the review boards and write a bad review. There are two sites(that I know of) that you have written a bad review about my property.

The room was incorrectly serviced by our housekeeping, where we rectified by sending in two housekeepers to quickly set the room.

I do not understand how following the policies that were given to you at the time of the booking makes you this upset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were blown away by the whole package, my partner and I stayed one night here while traveling through the Kootenays on business. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful, providing us a huge, clean room for $50 less than anywhere else we were able to find in town. He took the time to show us some fun spots to visit on the town map, and mentioned a couple street festivals & acitivites he thought we may enjoy.

They are just a short drive across the bridge, but well worth it for what amenities you get at such a low price. The room was clean and well kept, and the bed was by far the most comfortable I've found on all my work travels.

Too good to miss, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullymoptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Bullymoptop,

I'm very delighted to hear that you enjoyed my 'tour of Nelson on a map' guide. Happy travels and see you next time.

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#9 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Property: Villa Motel
Address: 655 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Motel is located right by Nelson’s Orange Bridge, with views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is ideally situated away from Nelson’s city noise with plenty of free parking while being a close 4 minute drive to Baker Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel Nelson
Villa Motel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing