We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel in Nelson, BC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in Nelson, BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are a couple in our 30s, visited Nelson for the first time. We chose this hotel has it was a reasonable price and good location, close to downtown. We immediately noticed how clean and trendy the rooms looked. Love the laminate floor - we both have bad allergies and so this type of flooring is really preferred. Allergy free! :) Newly renovated rooms. We had an econo queen room with a shower - highly recommend! We slept SO well in this room - better than expected and it is so close to downtown / wonderful places to eat and the water. Friendly, helpful staff. Downside - no kitchen area to make your own food and they do not offer breakfast - but, overall, an excellent stay and will return if we are ever in Nelson again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that is NOT above the bar if you need quiet at night. The econo queen roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
90
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in Nelson and very friendly/helpful staff. I arrived on a Thursday and had a discounted rate from my online booking. When I decided to stay another night they extended my discount and gave me a nicer room! The accommodations are simple but that's the point. It's a streamlined hotel with everything you need and the price reflects that. Definitely recommend and definitely would return.

Room Tip: I had no problems with noise, but apparently some rooms get some noise from the street on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Without any plans, we found ourselves in Nelson looking for a hotel. We stopped off at the Travel Info Center where we came across The Adventure Hotel.

Newly renovated, great service, clean and perfect location.
-We dropped off our bags and walked around downtown for the day.
-The pub serves great food that's not just typical 'pub food'. Very classy and tasty. I had the PB Bacon Burger and it was DELICIOUS!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side from the bar. At night, it can get loud. We stayed on a Thursday n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroatianSensation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We got recommend this hotel from local. It‘s a 100 years old hotel, just finshed renovation. Very modern clean hotel. Nice river view. Good service. Restuarand in hotel.
Just wish if they had elevator, that would be easier to carry our bags to our room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nicely redone hotel in the middle of historic Nelson Downtown. Boutique style decor throughout. The rooms are fresh and edgy, and a nice change from standard hotels. We had one of the deluxe queen bed rooms with 3 piece bath, good air conditioner that was not too loud (a rare find indeed!).

Their is a nicely appointed common area with tv lounge for those staying in the more hostel like rooms. We placed a few food items in the mini-fridge so they would keep.

The sports pub in the base has a good atmosphere, and was a good place to unwind and catch some World Cup action. There is also a higher end steak restaurant as well, but we did not try this one.

We rolled in on Canada Day Eave with motorcycle mechanical issues and the staff helped us find a local mechanic that got us back on the road the next day...well...we could have gone back the next day, but liked the hotel and Nelson so much that we decided to stay an extra day for Canada Day festivities.

It was also nice to share stories with the Western Canada Ducati Enthusiasts. They also host the Triumph rally towards the end of July. Do not get the wrong impression though, this is not a biker hotel nor a biker bar. This is a nice trendy hotel that would be perfect stopover for summer fun on the lake or hiking. We will be back this winter and use the hotel as a base to ski Whitewater and Red Mountain.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have Queen bed & private 3 piece bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I liked most things about this hotel - the location, the recent renovation and the clean facilities. However, I was not prepared for a room with a sink and toilet and no shower or bath. I guess I should have known when the price was only $64 in June. The air conditioner was noisy so bring ear plugs, I did. Also the room was very small - I have stayed in larger rooms in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
The Adventure Hotel has completed a full 100% renovation, offering our guests a Pick your Rate system so we can accommodate most budgets.

We offer our guests a choice of a Deluxe, Economy or Budget Room. As you had picked a Budget room for your stay, you would of been informed of the facilities that were included with your room. As a budget room, and at a rate of $64 for a fully remodeled room, large flat screen television, brand new air conditioning unit, free wireless internet and private half bath we think this is an amazing deal for a summer rate. Although the Budget rooms only have a half bath, the shared private shower is only shared with 3 other rooms.

As for the "noisy" air conditioner, these units are brand new and do not need to be run on full fan speed to cool the room. If you would of turned down the fan speed, the units are very quiet running.

If you choose to stay with us again in the future, perhaps a Deluxe room or an Economy room would be to your liking. These rooms are spacious with King, Queen, or Double beds and full baths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a Thursday night. There was no issue whatsoever with noise from the pub downstairs. Check in was quick and friendly. The room was very clean. The newly renovated modern decor gave the room almost a minimalist European feel. The air conditioner was a little on the loud side but did not interfere with my sleep.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tango-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Property: The Adventure Hotel
Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing