We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fit for our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Guys ski trip to Whitewater. We had 3 rooms. 2 singles in the new part (very nice) and one double in the old wing (small but worked well). We would definitely stay here again. Nice Euro feel. Funky little town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 215 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

My spouse and I were just looking for a place to sleep after riding White Water all day and this place was perfect. The modern style is unique, but more importantly it has everything you need for a great price. In a convenient location right in the city centre. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornAfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

THe rooms were very nice, although lacking in a few things. When we came in all the lamps were unplugged and it took us a long time to find any electrical plug ins (especially in the dark). The bed had an odd array of blankets and no sheets. THe room also only provided a small sample bottle of shampoo for soap. Other then these minor details, the staff were very nice and helpful, the bar and grill attached made amazing food. The hotel is right in the middle of it all and its within walking distance to downtown. Definitely will stay again, but will be more prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking a minute and providing feedback. We strive to provide our guests with the best service and comfort while they stay with us and your comments help us to improve.

Depending upon what type of room you were staying in, we offer our guests a triple linen sheet system in our rooms. For bath amenities, we provide our guests in the budget rooms with soap and shampoo. In our other rooms, we provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, and a makeup remover. If this was not provided in your room, I certainly hope that my staff provided you with it on discovery.

As for the lighting in your room, I have talked with the housekeeping staff regarding checking of such things to ensure that this is not overlooked in the future.

If you would like to contact me directly so I may further discuss this with you please contact me at Rhonda@adventurehotel.ca.

Regards,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager
The Adventure Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple room types for a group of guys. I stayed in the dorm style bunk room. Initially I was taken back by the small size and detached shower. After a hour it began to feel perfect. The detached shower worked great with the small half bath in the room. There was slight noise that could be heard from the bar below but nothing that stopped us from sleeping. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The coffee shop next door had the best breakfast sammie known to man. Overall fantastic value for a clean updated room.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place has just been refurbished and it looks great. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a great style. And I thought the rates were very good.
The food in the sports bar and the steak house was brilliant. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Its also in a very convenient location for getting the shuttle bus up to Whitewater.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We went with the cheapest room, which is a hostel style bunk bed arrangement. We slept 2, but you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Plenty of room at the right price. Right in the heart of the action. 2 bars and a restaraunt attached and a coffie place right around corner. Friendly helpful cheerful staff. Easy and available parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just stayed a week at the Adventure. Staff was helpful and friendly. Remodel of rooms was great. On site steakhouse, brewpub and liquor store means you only need to leave to ski. Brewpub had terrific daily specials . Only downside is no elevator but the low rates more than make up for that

Room Tip: Second floor is quiter....get room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Adventure Hotel. We value customer feedback. It is unfortunate that an elevator is not available at the hotel, however, we are always happy to help our guests with their luggage!

Sincerely,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $104 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing