We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“jan 27 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“jan 27 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Plenty of room at the right price. Right in the heart of the action. 2 bars and a restaraunt attached and a coffie place right around corner. Friendly helpful cheerful staff. Easy and available parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
90
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just stayed a week at the Adventure. Staff was helpful and friendly. Remodel of rooms was great. On site steakhouse, brewpub and liquor store means you only need to leave to ski. Brewpub had terrific daily specials . Only downside is no elevator but the low rates more than make up for that

Room Tip: Second floor is quiter....get room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Adventure Hotel. We value customer feedback. It is unfortunate that an elevator is not available at the hotel, however, we are always happy to help our guests with their luggage!

Sincerely,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Love the room my friend and I booked with bunk beds. Walls are thin though so if you're a light sleeper look somewhere else as this is right down town and above a bar. I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kanata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Adventure Hotel. As we are located in the downtown core, the surrounding area can be a bit noisy. In the planning of the renovations, we did take care in detail to filter noise from the rooms with new windows, new flooring and new doors. Unfortunately, not all noise can be blocked. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The only thing id change is my room above the pub! It was quite noisy. Other than that, this is where I will be staying at from now on, for every business and pleasure trip in Nelson!

I really enjoyed the modern new look, the beds were super clean and the bathroom was probably the nicest bathroom I've seen!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate the great review you posted for The Adventure Hotel. The newly renovated rooms have been a huge success and we are looking forward to the completion of remainder in the Spring of 2014.

Sincerely,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

They have only just begun and already the renovations completed on this hotel and in it's rooms are stunning. My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying in one of the newly completed rooms and we are to say the least....Very Impressed! Modern updates combined with the accents of the heritage hotel's roots. Clean lines and enjoyable colour palate, stunning bathrooms with rain shower fixtures, and to top it off, a beautiful modern electric fireplace that creates a romantic atmosphere. Way to go Downtown Dan!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is going through renovations, however they put us at the far end of the hall away from any construction; we did not hear a thing.

Our room was great; clean, modern & well laid out. Reminded me of European chic. There were some really nice touches with the alarm clock (ipod dock), usb plug-ins for charging directly into the sockets, the electric fireplace and a fabulous shower. The bed was super comfortable with nice linens.

Unfortunately, the pub's music did come through the floor, not so much that we couldn't sleep but it was noticeable. At 4:35 a.m. I was woken up to the vacuuming of the pub and a woman's laughter who apparently was chatting with someone. My husband slept through this.

Also wanted to mention there was no elevator but I am not sure if this was due to the upgrades or that the hotel simply does not have one.

All in all, staff and accommodations were great; for a long weekend/holiiday, the value was great. We will stay again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is not directly over the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've come here a couple of times now and it's been great service and comfortable rooms both times. The first time we were in one of the older rooms and found it very comfortable and clean. This past trip we were in one of the newly remodeled rooms and The New Grand has done an excellent job updating the rooms. Very beautiful!

The Hawg Wash is excellent! Hot and cold running water with soap and towels to get the bugs off your bike, plus a nice area just for motorcycles to park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Property: The Adventure Hotel
Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing