We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Adventure Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hume Hotel & Spa(Nelson)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(Nelson)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
82
86
28
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
86
28
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand hotelbudget roombunk bedsrooftop patiothe pubcoffee shopbar loungeolder hotelrooms are modernstreet parkingexcellent locationwalking distance to everythingpleasant stayup to dateair conditioninggreat place to stayski trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 217 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a motorcycle gathering. The prices for the rooms vary from very cheap for the ones with no showers to reasonable prices for the ones with a full bathroom. The hotel is older and a bit run down but alright.

Room Tip: A decent hotel but always call and double check your reservations and what your room will include. Specials in the restaurant change without notice and no substitute was made available.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinF484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Comeau, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again Kevin! As you noticed while here with us, we are going through a major renovation in the hotel. We take customer comments to heart and the improvements that we are working on will be a pleasant surprise when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Older hotel, based on the stone markings I saw, looks like the building was constructed in 1932. However, old does not = bad. There is Limited parking behind the hotel. Bar patrons seem to get their cigarette fixes right below the guest rooms, making it a bit rowdy right about the time you are ready to sleep for the night. There are no hair dryers in the rooms, and no elevator, so be wary of this when booking with elderly travel companions.

Not to be all negative, the rooms were clean, pillows comfortable, and the staff helpful and pleasant. The lobby areas had a nice vibe. They provide iPads for their guests to use while relaxing in the lobby area (althought they are chained down with a "Please do not steal" label, not so much a knock on the hotel, but more a knock on society in general).

Room Tip: Try to get a street side room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylane182_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Comeau, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of The New Grand. You are correct in the age of our hotel, with the original construction finalized in 1913. We are pleased to announce to you and the rest of the world, that we are planning a full scale renovation of the entire hotel beginning April 1, 2013. We are very excited about this new announcement and would be happy to add you to our email list of updates as the re-invention of our property unfolds. We sincerely appreciate your review, it is thanks to people like you that improvements like these are possible. We hope you will join us again in the not to distant future to check out our new look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel advertised renovations, but still felt a little old. In the middle of winter, felt a slight draft, though not bad. Felt like the place was still not totally up to date.

The bar downstairs had a lively feel to it, and was really enjoyable. So was the lounge space.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, September 2012. The welcome on arrival was genuine. We didn't have a reservation, but we were shown a room which suited us fine. To be honest, yes, the hotel is old, but for the price is exceptional value. Terrific location, friendly and helpful staff, dinner in Louis's restaurant was exceptional in quality and value? Would not hesitate to visit this hotel again. Thanks, Rhonda and staff for a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a little noise when the pub closes - but it only lasts for 10 minutes or so.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I only stayed one night but it was the best sleep I had out of all the hotels that week. Comfy bed and thick pillows (not those cheap skinny ones some hotels have). Really basic room it was very clean. Downside - no elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharayah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews