We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel ,we are comming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Clean rooms ,budget travel,superb restaurant , food and service was very good,we could take our mountainbikes to room with no problem,great town and people.

Room Tip: Economy!Second floor have roof top deck!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for The Adventure Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

I just stayed two nights at the New Grand as part of a regional motorcycle meet. I booked late, so I ended up with a "budget" room on the second floor. The room was basic, but had its own toilet and sink and a small colour TV. The shower is down the hall for the budget room guests, but it wasn't busy when I wanted to use it and was clean and functional. No A/C in the room, but it was cool at night, so the room was fine with the window open. The downside is that the hotel has a pub downstairs which was noisy until about 2 a.m. I was out fairly late both nights, so I wasn't disturbed for long by the street noise. And it's nice being in the heart of Nelson's downtown.
The pub/restaurant had an excellent $10 buffet the first night, and all of the staff we encountered: desk clerks, waitresses, hotel cook, etc. were outgoing and friendly.
I highly recommend the New Grand for those on a budget. And for more money, there are "Standard" rooms with showers and A/C.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub if you go to bed early
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006VFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My girlfriends and I always stay here when we come to Nelson. It is a short walk from everything. It is always clean and everyone is friendly who works at the hotel. I have stayed there 3 times and will definately be back. It is also not overpriced. I love the feel of Nelson and this hotel ties our trip in perfectly! Thank you!

Room Tip: Book ahead a couple weeks to get the best rooms available. I usually do it last minute but I am not...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraBear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newgrand, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We strive to maintain a relaxing environment for our guests so they can enjoy their time here with us.

Regards,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This may be an older hotel, but they have refinished it beautifully. The rooms were super clean, the beds lovely and a shower you could stay under for hours (if you didn't care about wasting water),
The staff were all friendly and the breakfast supplied in a cute brown paper bag was lovely.
Breakfast bun with ham, cheese & egg which you could heat up in a microwave conveniently situated in the lobby, a yogurt with fruit & oatmeal and an orange.
We definitely would stay here again.
Only one tiny complaint - the coffee was quite bitter and just a little too strong for those of us who don't take sugar & milk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newgrand, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thank you for your review of our beautiful hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the Healthy Breakfast to Go package. As for the coffee, I will most certainly keep this in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The New Grand Hotel is a charming old hotel with lots of character. We spent one night here in an economy room. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly & helpful. Hotel is conveniently located close to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newgrand, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Every year The New Grand opens it's doors to the R.A.T. (Riders Association of Triumph) and what a fabulous job they do. We complete inundate the hotel, parking lot is blocked off for motorcycles from all over the NorthWest. Buffet on Saturday night was fantastic. Coffee available every morning - with decent sized cups and real cream (not the powdered stuff you find in many hotels.) Room was excellent. Nicely redone with lots of old touches like oak flooring and old fashioned sink and tiles. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. A really nice place to stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaberton-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newgrand, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your yearly visits as well! With next year being the big 10th anniversary, we are already preparing for your stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We checked into the Grand Hotel and was told that there was some construction outside. But not to worry since it would be during the day. However I didn't think the day would start at 6:45 AM. Right outside our window. Then came the excavator jackhammer at 9AM. The noise was deafening. We were compensated a small portion of our bill for the inconvience but I think more could have been offered. Lesson learned. Other then that it was a quaint place. I would also like to say the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: we were told the reason we weren't offered a different room was because we made reservations. So...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcduer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newgrand, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

We would like to thank you for your understanding during the City of Nelson's construction. It was most unfortunate that the City would do work during the tourist season, but the noise level was beyond what we were expecting.

Again, thank you for you understanding in the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing