We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location and Great Staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Location and Great Staff!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Took a road trip out west for some hiking and mountain biking. Nelson has some of the best trails out there! We stayed at the Alpine for a couple nights. The staff there were amazingly friendly and helpful! Can't say enough about them. The rooms were spotless and a great price. Along with being dog-friendly, you can't go wrong! This place would be perfect for anybody, couples, families, heck singles!
I would recommend the Alpine and hope to be back one of these days!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpineinnandsuites, General Manager at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We always try to make our guests feel right at home. We are proud to accept dogs as we know how hard it is to find accommodations that allow pets. Thanks again and hope to see you again in the near future.
Jeff McKinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    64
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
70
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night in August 2012 while on a BC road trip.We had room 25 which was upstairs.On arrival,checking in was quick, staff polite and helpful.The room was a little dark but clean.It was quite small but ok for 1 night.The bed was very comfortable.There was a small fridge and coffee maker.The bathroom was a good size,modern and spotlessly clean.We did use the laundry facilities which was great and there was also a PC to use while waiting for your washing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpinemotel, General Manager at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your response. We try very hard to accommodate every type of guest. We have a large variety of rooms and suites such as Standard rooms, Kitchen Suites, Jacuzzi Suites and large Family Suites. Depending on the group size and length of stay I know we have something for everyone. Thanks again for the kind comments regarding the bathroom as we have just finished renovating the washrooms in all of our rooms and suites. Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and hope to see you again in the future.
Jeff McKinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Alpine as part of a three week tour of Canada from the UK. The rooms themselves were comfortable clean and excellent value. What really struck us was the helpfulness of the manager there (I think his name was Geoff...??) who went to great lengths to talk to us about the places to eat and drink in Nelson along with nearby sites to see. He really could not have been more helpful. The hotel is located closed to the beautiful town centre and we found it was an easy 5 minute walk to hit the main shops and bars. We are planning to go back toCanada in the near future and I will definitely be going back to both Nelson and the Alpine. The free wi-fi and use of the BBQ overlooking the river was also an unexpected bonus..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpinemotel, Manager at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of the Alpine Inn and Suites. We always try to go to great lengths for our guests to have a wonderful and memorable experience of the Alpine Inn and Nelson alike. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Jeff McKinlay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice hotel. Clean, various options for room types. Great location - can walk into the downtown area. We just had a basic room with two beds, table, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Ours was a small room which was fine as we only stayed one night and left early in the morning. If going back to Nelson, I would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're staying more than one night and need a little extra space - take one of the larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Alpine. It is very welcoming from the outside, at night they have xmas lights lite, even in Oct. The parking lot and outside of the buildings are really well maintained. The rooms we had (3 all together) were unique, with different lay outs and decor. All were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were all updated and lovely. Staff was fabulous and friendly. Would recommend it for anyone who is passing through and staying for awhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpinemotel, Manager at Alpine Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind comments. We have done extensive renovations this past year and it is great to get positive feedback. We all take pride and work extremly hard to satisfy all of our guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's just soooooooo cute !WE found ourselves with a night left to stay in N elson ..........this really is a funky old style motel .........we stayed on the main floor .yehhhhhhhhhhhhh.but we travelled back into the heart of the ' M otel business'.............it was a dream come through!!!!!!it was sooooooooooooooo quite!&it was a popular little oasis in the middle of a huge park like setting .love those big trees!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!we'll be back next time !!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mercedies2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We (two adults and a dog) had a great experience here. Funky buildings and a well-kept property contain rooms that are very modern, spotless and, most importantly, peaceful. We even slept with our window open each night and we didn't hear any traffic or disturbances. And the bed and pillows were among the best I've known. Plush and restful. We walked our dog twice a day to downtown Nelson and explored the residential streets full of charismatic old homes, so Alpine is really well situated. For the price, this may be the best motel I've found in Western Canada. Book it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn and Suites

Property: Alpine Inn and Suites
Address: 1120 Mines Rd, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Inn & Suites has 30 clean and comfortable rooms with or without a full kitchen, as well as Jacuzzi suites and large family units. This motel style accommodation features free wireless internet and parking in front of your room. The Alpine Inn & Suites is also dog friendly, a fee of $15.00 cdn/night applies to guests with pets. Ideally situated for those seeking peace and quiet but wanting proximity to Historic Baker Street and Nelson's vibrant arts and entertainment. The Alpine Inn & Suites is also the closest hotel to Whitewater Ski resort. Please let us show you our variety of renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpine Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing