We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is a ...................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I guess I have stayed here an average of 6 nights per year for the last 9 years. This hotel is a perfect place to stay in while in Nelson. The lobby is nice and the staff is as good as it gets.friendly & professional. The attached restaurant is very nice and inviting. The rooms are well maintained. I`ve stayed in the smaller rooms to the large rooms over the the past years.
I`ll be back for about 5 nights in June 2011. Well done Best Western!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Best Western Baker Street Inn. You will be pleased to know that we have recently renovated all 70 of our guest rooms...flat screen tvs, carpets, artwork, bedding and lighting! We are about to be a Best Western 'PLUS' hotel very soon...We look forward to seeing you this coming June.

General Manager
BW Baker Street Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 570 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

It is what you expect from a Best Western. Clean with standard features. Great shower and easy free wi-fi connection with an ether-net cord. The restaurant attached looked like your typical coffee shop type place however our breakfast was wonderful. Fresh really good ingredients and tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

After our car breaking down we took refuge in Nelson and figured going with a chain hotel was safer and the hotel itself was very good. The food at the diner was ok. The hot chocolate was delicious as was the organic coffee and tea. My teen son loved the waffle with strawberries and whip cream. Had great prices. Found the hot tub very good even though my disabled mother was not able to get to it as there were stairs and no ramp for her to use which was disappointing. There was a lot of confusion though with the staff as to our deposit for our room and for the room we got for the people who came to help us get going again. It also took over a week for them to return our deposit on the credit card and was only returned after the bank called to clear it up. As well as a monetary deposit we left for the second room was not recorded on the computer so was some confusion over that. We did get some snotty comments from staff that soured the initial nice reception we received. Oh and if staying here make sure to ask for a room with a view as we got a painted wall as our view. Was not nearly as nice as seeing the lake and mountains. I would stay again but would be careful about deposits and views as well as not getting the bed right next to air conditioner as was very cold next to it but other side of room was too warm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We spent four nights in this pleasant, well-run hotel, and were able to walk to everything we wanted to see in Nelson. Although on the edge of the business/shopping/galleries district, the hotel is quiet. Food in the restaurant was uniformly good, well-presented and ample in portions. Service was friendly but professional.
Nelson is a charming town with a hight ratio of artists and musicians, surrounded by gorgeous lake and mountain scenery, and with great shopping if you're looking for on-of-a-kind items, as well as the usual large chains. The latter are well-separated from the rest of town, though only five minutes drive, so the town retains its' 'heritage buildings' appeal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I booked directly from their website and got manager special. Very clean as other reviews have commented. 4th floor. 2 queen beds. 10 foot ceiling. Also had breaskfast at their restaurant, not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyviewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Having stayed at many Best Westerns, I have always found this property to have all those simple expectations in tact...the staff always greet you with a smile, the rooms are clean and the price is always reasonable. A fairly modest gym exists with all of the bare essentials and the restaurant's Thai Rice Bowl is one of my all time favs.
A free guest computer in the lobby is always nice when travelling sans computer. On my last stay I tried the Sunday Brunch...awesome!
The location is right on Nelson's main drag, Baker Street so you are close to everything.
Good job to the staff at the Baker Street Inn...I will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeds67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

stayed here for one night for work, check in was organized for our big group and rooms where good sized ours had a LCD tv good size screen. Rooms also had fridges though ours did not have a microwave ask for a room with one as some do. Restaurant offers room service, free guest computer to use, right along main street in downtown nelson very convenient location

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $106 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From majestic mountain views to rich history, Nelson is equally adored by outdoor enthusiasts and lovers of art and culture. As the only full-service hotel located on downtown Nelson's famous Baker Street, the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring all that Nelson has to offer. This eclectic British Columbia town attracts visitors from all walks of life. From Selkirk College students to artists drawn to a thriving arts and culture scene, nearly everyone converges on Baker Street for its unique mix of independent shops and restaurants. The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is just steps from the action. For those who crave even more action, Nelson is just a short drive to some of British Columbia's best winter sports spots. The Whitewater Ski Resort is known for having some of the best powder in the world, while Baldface Lodge steps it up a notch with guided snowcat skiing and boarding. Other outdoor enthusiasts can hike, bike and fish at nearby Kootenay Lake, nestled between the Selkirk and Purcell mountain ranges. After a day of play, soak weary bones in the Ainsworth Hot Springs while enjoying spectacular views. If you prefer an indoor soak, head back to your Baker Street hotel and indulge in one of our in-room hot tubs. These amenities include a fitness center and hot tub, free parking in a large lot, kids stay free and the on-site Baker Street Grill, which can satisfy the heartiest of appetites. The convention center space is perfect for a variety of business or special events. And, not only are we Eco-Friendly, but we're pet-friendly too. Come discover why Nelson has earned the reputation as one of BC's premier tourist destinations at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing