We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of our BC Trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our recent tour of British Columbia. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms that were above average in comfort and a great restaurant on site. The hotel is located in downtown Nelson and within walking distance of all that you would need to see in this lovely town. Free parking located across the street in a fairly large parking lot.
Will definitely stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unionjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 570 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel is located at the edge of downtown, but Nelson is small enough you can easily walk anywhere you would want to go. The room is quiet, comfortable, beds are great, and I like that there is a fridge (empty) and microwave in the room. Parking is free across the steet from the hotel. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. As another reviewer mentioned, rather than stay in Castlegar, I stay in the Best Western in either Trail or Nelson.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. I was given one on the top floor and it was quiet. I'm not sure it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthCampbellvilleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Thanks for staying with us. When we renovated all guest rooms this past year, we made sure that each one were equipped with a fridge and microwave and the guests have been loving that. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience about the Best Western PLUS Baker Street Inn. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I am a sales representative, on the road for my company, all over BC. Best Western Baker Street is the absolute best place to stay, of all the properties I stay at, in the Province! They never change....always warm, friendly, spotlessly clean, and genuinely wanting to make every single stay better than the last! I now base all my southwestern BC business calls out of Nelson
because of it's central location, great food, quiet rooms, "comfy" beds and amazing staff!
Best Western Baker Street truly has all the comforts of home and so very much more!
At the end of your Kootenay adventure or the tail end of a long business day, tuck into your "home away from home" and just relax and smile! You will enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, but if a view isn't required, the rooms looking into the courtyard are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

To date, my stays (est 30+) have been on business, but if and when my wife and I are able to get away together and visit Nelson, the Best Western on Baker Street will definitely be my preferred choice of hotel. In fact, rather than stay in Castlegar, I drive to Nelson just to stay at the Best Western and then return to Castlegar the following morning to complete my business trips. YES - It is that good! NO - I am not related to any of the staff! I have read some of the posted reviews and would agree that for a large vehicle, the parking can be difficult on the odd occasion, but the bed makes up for that - big time. I have actually pulled back the sheets and written down the name of the manufacturer for my wife. Awesome staff (Sharon, Diane and Elizabeth - all three get special mention, but the rest are great too). Fabulous food and excellent service in the restaurant. PS - I love the fact that the hotel is pet friendly. Based on their tag-wagging they seem to like the place too. My ONLY peeve is that there is 1 regular and 1 decaf coffee for the room. I need high test!!! - but then again, that is available in the restaurant!

Jeremy I

Room Tip: Looking for the best room? Throw a dart - any room is a good room. However, the 100 level does aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed for the first time and enjoyed my two nights at this BW. Pet friendly, hot tub, restaurant, nice small lobby with all papers you want to read, and perfect location made for a simple choice. The staff is friendly and helpful, parking lot very tight for truck owners, park on street for free after 5 pm. Walking distance to everything and amazing food/ sites. Nice and ultra clean hot tub and exercise room, no pool sadly. My room was beautiful, modern with flatscreen LG tv, fridge, coffee pot and computer desk, free wifi, no annoying 28 letter password to got with it! I will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Lakeside. Mountain view room, otherwise, parking lot it is!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovefromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I am a business traveller and stay at this hotel on a monthly basis. The location is at the end of baker street (downtown) which is a short walking distance to a number of unique and great restaurants. The rooms are updated, consistantly clean, and well appointed. The staff is friendly and the hotel has a welcoming atmosphere. Overall excellent value!

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I stay at the Best Western in Nelson whenever we visit and we love it. The rooms are very nice, the staff were very friendly, and the location is great as it is on the fringe of the main strip. The best part about the hotel is that it is dog friendly. Since bringing a dog into our life, hotels become a little more tricky to book, so it is nice to have a clean hotel that has designated dog rooms. They even have dog blankets available at the front desk which was a nice touch when we forgot ours.

Wheelchair users:

I use a wheelchair which makes hotels very hit and miss. When I find a hotel that works, I like to return to it regularly. The BW in Nelson has an excellent wheelchair accessible room and the hotel is close to everything in town. The only issue is that the hotel entrance is on a slope, so unless you are very strong you will need somebody to push you half a block up to the flat main strip. Much of the town is on a hill, except the man strip, so finding lodgings on the flat would be tricky. The Best Western is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $106 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From majestic mountain views to rich history, Nelson is equally adored by outdoor enthusiasts and lovers of art and culture. As the only full-service hotel located on downtown Nelson's famous Baker Street, the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring all that Nelson has to offer. This eclectic British Columbia town attracts visitors from all walks of life. From Selkirk College students to artists drawn to a thriving arts and culture scene, nearly everyone converges on Baker Street for its unique mix of independent shops and restaurants. The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is just steps from the action. For those who crave even more action, Nelson is just a short drive to some of British Columbia's best winter sports spots. The Whitewater Ski Resort is known for having some of the best powder in the world, while Baldface Lodge steps it up a notch with guided snowcat skiing and boarding. Other outdoor enthusiasts can hike, bike and fish at nearby Kootenay Lake, nestled between the Selkirk and Purcell mountain ranges. After a day of play, soak weary bones in the Ainsworth Hot Springs while enjoying spectacular views. If you prefer an indoor soak, head back to your Baker Street hotel and indulge in one of our in-room hot tubs. These amenities include a fitness center and hot tub, free parking in a large lot, kids stay free and the on-site Baker Street Grill, which can satisfy the heartiest of appetites. The convention center space is perfect for a variety of business or special events. And, not only are we Eco-Friendly, but we're pet-friendly too. Come discover why Nelson has earned the reputation as one of BC's premier tourist destinations at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing