We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bibo

Bibo
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: Canadian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: BiBO serves modern bistro fare, rustic Italian, fresh, creative, European inspired comfort food along with a wide variety of exciting wines in an intimate dining room in historic Malone Manor on Hall and Herridge Lane, Nelson’s favorite destination.
Ormiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

This restaurant had been recommended to us. We were impressed by the service at the table, and although the menu wasn't extensive there was more than enough choice for the four of us. To top it off the wine list had the Klinker Brick Zinfandel on it which I had already tasted and knew was fantastic. The meals were nicely sized and very tasty, and we were very happy with our overall dining experience. I would happily recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us the other night at BiBO.

We appreciate so very much when guests share thier great experiences and thank you for recommending us!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    69
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big price, small plates!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Was intrigued by the menu, and had heard good things thru reviews on this site. However, the experience was a bit underwhelming. Not that any one thing was poor, but rather, there was nothing exceptional. Waiter was good, but inspite of dining in the early evening, and it being only moderately busy, service was a bit slow. Our appetizer was a perfect example. Had the pork charcuterie, and it was good, but very small serving. They use words like 'organic', while describing the baguette, but it was very pedestrian. My partner had the 'Wild Pacific Sockeye Salmon', which she enjoyed, but the rest of the plate was very so so. My eggplant parm was not anything I couldn't cook myself. That's not the kind of culinary experience I wanted, and at the prices they charge, it was all a bit disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
I am guessing you had the Fraser Valley Pork rilllette (which is a pate) with the locally made uphill baguette. Charcuterie is cured meat (we serve a various kinds of charcuterie), that we serve in slices on our BiBO Boards with artisanal cheese and house made accompaniments. The pork rillette you had was a small mason jar of house made, spice brasied pate made from hormone free BC pork and was only $10 which included half a locally made, organic baguette. Not a “big price” and not something you would want to eat a lot of at a time as this is portioned for one and in our small plates section of our menu where you find starters. If you want a bigger portion you would order form the big plate section of our menu which are mains.

The Eggplant parmesan is an ample sized, comfort food dish which looks simple but a lot of preparation goes into making the components properly and we make it to order for $18.

We are glad you wife enjoyed her Sockeye.

We are sorry you found the service a bit slow and don’t mind if guests are in a hurry, to let us know and we can speed it up. Otherwise we allow guests to relax and enjoy their meal.


June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

great service, limited menu, what I did have was very good, but due to allergies and personal food choices it was a smaller menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We have quite a few gluten free options as wells vegetarian options.

I'm not sure what your diet limitations were but our chefs are happy to accommodate dietary requests.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Beautiful deck area but the service was very slow and our butts go sore sitting on the wooden chairs. The food was very good, for the price should have been excellent. Overall would recommend it but took an hr from ordering dinner to eating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank razdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
So sorry to hear you had to wait too long for your food to arrive. Our servers are on it but the kitchen was so slammed and can only put out the food as fast as our little kitchen allows. They do not want to compromise the quality and everything is made to order, from scratch. It is not the norm that you would have to wait but in this rare case where everyone walks in at the same time despite our well spaced reservations, it does lead to waits and our servers so their best to ensure you are well taken care of in the meantime.

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed our food on the beautiful patio and by the way, we have some cushions available for anyone that would like one as well as blankets.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice food, even better service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Another warm Nelson evening and we were second guessing our choice of outdoor seating. We were convinced that it would be even warmer inside, but we then expressed our concern with the patio furniture, all bare wood and metal. We wanted to linger and no sooner were provided with cushions. And with an attitude that says, "for our guests, anything". How refreshing from some establishments where every of the menu request seems like a bother.
Wine list is loaded with BC wines, many listed by the bottle that can be opened and offered by the glass. Again, how accommodating. We started with the tuna tataki, a bright combo of citrus and melon and five slices of tuna. We had to fight over the last. I would have liked a little heat, maybe some chili?
Michael made a dinner suggestion, the Kettle Valley cab. Big nose, oakey licorice, a bit over ripe for cab, but a nice pairing to the rib eye. And one of the least expensive on the list, again, what a departure as a recommendation. Steak was accompanied by many seasonal and artfully plated veg, included a thyme flecked potato stack and a white zucchini.
We ended the evening with a delightful conversation with the owner.
The menu is small, but how many choices does one need? There's certainly something for everyone. Can certainly see why this is a local favorite.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WineSnob_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
It was so nice to meet the two of you also. Glad you enjoyed BiBO and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town. Thank you for sharing your lovely review.

June



Note: The tuna tataki has a little wasabi on the crust but meant to be subtle as not to interfere with the other fresh flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibo also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing