We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost, bad beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Falls Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2010

What a disappointment. After reading the glowing reviews we booked a room for our trip to Nelson. What a mistake. The room was stark with a hodge podge of old furniture, a terrible bed, internet that did not work and a minuscule TV. There was not a comfortable place to sit in the room leaving one to sit on the bed that had no headboard and wanted to roll away from the wall. The bathroom was dirty and the location was nowhere near as nice as advertised. Yes it is near downtown but the "view of the lake" was a joke. What one could see was a sliver of the lake over the dog pound across the street!
Yes there was a kitchenette but not even a coffee maker in the room so plan on hiking downtown if you want a morning brew. They advertise like a bed and breakfast but do not be fooled, no breakfast here and nary a sign of management. They tell you that the key will be left in the room but fail to mention that there are no names to identify the upstairs rooms so one is left wandering around peering in windows to see if the room is occupied or not! No management on site.
The front yard is pleasant enough but the backyard is all pavement and overlooks decrepit buildings with the side yard having a "great view" of the Nelson animal control shelter.
Nelson is wonderful but there are far nicer places to stay so my advice is to avoid this place.
$120/nite for a bad nights sleep is just too much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drylandsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Absolutely stunning setting, a beautifully kept Victorian Guest house. The four of us girls had plenty of room and then some!!! Within walking distance to the best restaurants, shops and entertainment. Beautiful wrap around deck wonderful for enjoying morning coffee or a sunset. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay and we will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blendurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This was one of the nicest and most convenient places I have ever stayed for the price. It was very clean and cozy with plenty of room for a family. We stayed in the 1 bedroom Baker Suite which had everything you needed for an extended stay. Full small kitchen. Wraparound porch with BBQ's and patio sets for relaxing and our suite (which was nicely decorated) had it's own private entrance. (I believe they all do) Wonderfully quiet at night and so nice to wake up in the morning, sit on the deck and enjoy the garden. It was close to town. Everything is within walking distance. Kootenay Co-op a five minute walk. Will definitely be staying here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaLover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is a fantastic spot! It's on a quiet street half a block from down town! We had breakfast every morning on our own deck in the sun shine, overlooking the lake! Very clean and convenient with it's own complete kitchen. We loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethnov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

This guesthouse is beautifully kept, simple, yet comfortable, and convenient. The central location, walkable to shops, restaurants, parks and the lake was perfect for a relaxing holiday. It has the charm of a heritage house but with modern conveniences like internet. We traveled with a baby and enjoyed the spacious suite and the privacy. The well- equipped kitchen allowed us to make meals, and we sat outside on the covered porch for many meals and in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzzzz019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bear Inn
Dancing Bear Inn
#2 of 13 in Nelson
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Guesthouse

Address: 203 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $98 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Falls Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heritage guest house on the corner of Victoria and Falls Streets in historic downtown Nelson ... walk to all that the heart of Nelson offers!We offer 4 bright, clean, warmly decorated suites which each contain:•a private entrance•well equipped kitchenette•private full bathroom with shower •a large deck or veranda with outdoor dining furniture/BBQ•high speed wireless internet•cable TV/DVD•telephone •laundry facilities •reasonable rates.off street parking.2 suites which can sleep up to 5 people.2 suites which can sleep up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing