We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WE FOUND A GEM!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kokanee Glacier Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Monetville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WE FOUND A GEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booking on line, sight unseen and going by only photos can be a bit daunting, but not this time! We drove up the perfectly manicured drive to the Resort and checked in at the Office. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. Upon entering our room we found "Spotless" accomodations. We had a small suite with a kitchen, seperate bedroom and Living/Dining area. There was a guest laundry and a guest BBQ area. This place suited us to a "T" and we will definately be back next year when we make our annual visit to Nelson.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a beautiful veiw of the Lake. Those with mobility issues would want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    46
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
74
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A small group of family and friends try to have an annual scrapbook retreat in British Columbia or Alberta either May or June. Sept. 28 - Oct. 2 was the soonest we could manage one. Luckily, Kokanee Glacier Resort only uses their "breakfast room" (a separate building across from the motel rooms) July & August and we were able to rent it. What a fabulous place to have a retreat! The room is bright and cheery with its yellow walls, fireplace and many windows. A commercial coffee maker is available and Lori, the motel manager, made us wonderful muffins, butter tarts and a fruit plate to snack on. The scenery is second to none. Absolutely gorgeous view of the mountains and lake. Our group was smaller this year so we only needed to rent the two 2-bedroom suites on the front end of the motel; each with a deck/balcony (upper and lower suites) and awesome view. The weather didn't cooperate but when the sun did come out we all went outside to enjoy the lawn, adirondack chairs, gazebo and picture taking.

Our rooms were large and clean with two separate bedrooms, plenty of closet space, kitchenette, dining table, living room complete with large screen t.v., two rocking chairs, coffee table and comfortable futon couch/bed for a third occupant. On the second floor of the motel is a large sitting area with a roof overhead for protection from the rain; with tables, chairs, gas bbq for use by guests, homemade log bench and coffee table. I was quite surprised how quiet the place was as the motel entrance is right off of the highway but up a short, steep hill. It is a mere 16 kms. from Nelson where you will find wonderful restaurants and shopping.

I wouldn't recommend this motel for people who expect posh, glitzy accommodations. It is a clean, comfortable, down-to-earth motel with friendly, helpful staff. My group loved it and would go there again.

Room Tip: The cost of the two-bedroom suites is based on triple occupancy. Book early as the place fills up v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofanofwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Kokanee Glacier Resort is a 1950s motel that has been updated and rebranded as a "resort." The rooms are large, homey, clean, and affordable.Service was very friendly. A great place for families, travellers with pets, people on a budget, and guests who like a more informal accommodating atmosphere. It is a distance out of town, and not on the beach. It feels like an updated motel. Its not luxurious (to call it a resort is misleading) but a good value for what it is, and especially suited for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHStryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermountain west
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We chose to stay at the Kokanee Glacier Resort based on the many positive reviews here. I'm happy to report that it more than met expectations. It's not posh, but it doesn't claim to be. What it offers is very clean, comfortable rooms, a great location, and a staff that seems dedicated to ensuring that guests enjoy their stay. All in all, it was an excellent value.

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. The kitchenette was well equipped with everything we needed to prepare our meals. The motel wasn't full and was very quiet during our stay.

The grounds are really pleasant, plenty of lawn with seating and tables here and there, a covered deck area with a grill, and some swings and playground equipment for kids. The beach is across the road, with a sandy shore and beautiful clear water. If you're traveling with a dog, as we were, they'll enjoy their stay too, with the lawns to stroll on and lake to swim in.

The breakfast room was well-stocked, including a nice assortment of fresh fruit and a make-it-yourself omelette maker.

Downtown Nelson is about 10 km away. If you value peaceful, relaxing surroundings yet want easy access to downtown, this motel is a good choice.

We had to make a couple of changes to our reservation, and the staff was extremely accommodating in meeting our needs. We were very happy with our stay and would choose the Kokanee Glacier Resort again if our travels bring us back to Nelson someday.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the lawn area and so don't have a lake view. Two units on one end do face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Kokanee Glacier Resort was a pleasure to spend our vacation at. Our room was clean and updated and felt like home.
Lori was very friendly and very accommodating.
I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone and when I have the opportunity to come back, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every Sept. our car club (Spokane Corvette) goes to Nelson for their Queen City Cruise & Car Show. We have stayed at this hotel for three years This resort is just super. The rooms are so homey and super clean. Shaun, the owner lets us have the run of the resort. Weather permitting, we are allowed to have a bonfire and our entire group sits around the fire and catches up on all of the latest news. They also let us wash our cars so that they are spotless. We also always have at least one meal there at their picnic site.The scenery is just beautiful to look at and seeing Kootney Lake is a great reminder what a beautiful part of the world this is. . Thanks Shaun for making our "Nelson" weekend a fun time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loosing a loved one is always devastating and throws your world upside down. Tearing down my fort of 18 years is not yet complete but leaving it behind momentarily to find a new chapter in life was a very wise choice indeed - Nelson, BC was recommended to me by a sibling as she believed it would be the perfect place to gather my faculties for the oncoming emotional onslaught - she was so precise. Laurie took my reservation from Calgary and was so cordial, delightfully playful yet professional and upon my arrival, Shaun matched Laurie's enthusiasm when welcoming me. These two elements were the start of an incredible soulful sojourn. Unfortunately, I didn't have the chance to meet and thank Laurie, but Shaun had welcomed me as any gracious host should and recommended so much .... very knowledgeable about the many sights and activities to partake in Nelson. I am scoping new territory to hang my hat and these two delightful souls have helped me make Nelson a front runner in what I have seen of BC so far. The view from this resort is indeed breathtaking, the people of Nelson are incredibly friendly and the staff at the Kokanee Glacier Resort are superb. I loved this place. Not only will I recommend this resort to family and friends, but if I don't move to Nelson, I will visit Nelson again - hopefully the resort has vacancies when I do!

Thank you so much Shaun & Laurie

Don
Saskatoon

Room Tip: Doesn't matter - the natural ambience of Nelson and in particular, the focal point of where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
6.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokanee Glacier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Glacier Resort

Property: Kokanee Glacier Resort
Address: 2615 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kokanee Glacier Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking view of the Kootenay Lake, only an eight minute drive to the city of Nelson, and close to the Kokanee Glacier Park. The Kokanee Glacier Resort is an excellent starting point for exploring the best of the Kootenays. Comfortable air conditioned suites complete with private bedroom(s), kitchens and many other amenities make this the perfect family vacation destination, or just a great overnight visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kokanee Glacier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing