We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kokanee Glacier Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Kokanee Glacier Resort for a month and was immediately impressed with Laurie;
friendly, helpful, sincere and effervescent. She was an indication of what to expect: a wonderful
jewel of a motel in a great location that delivers full value. I recommend it most highly. Should another adventure take me to Nelson and environs in the future, I will 'rest assured' at the Kokanee Glacier Resort.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the second floor receive the morning sun, then a bonus sunset in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Kokanee Glacier Resort has a nice space that overlooks the "6 mile" section of the West arm of Kootenay Lake. My family and I have been here a couple of times and the rooms are clean and the location is really nice (we have family just east and the town is a short drive west). The owners and workers are friendly and the rooms are clean and well-equipped. The motel is NOT a Hilton and you don't pay big hotel prices. If you want great scenery and location, this is a good place to stay. For families with younger kids, they have a little playground. For adults, there are good views and a deck to lounge on, and even grill. They are pet friendly, with a small deposit. Rooms are not soundproof, but in my experience, people have always been respectful, soundwise. There is a small market nextdoor for basic needs. Will come again.

Room Tip: Don't know the number but the suite on the top floor closest to the lake is the best: has a deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gg400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were 4 adults and two kids who stumbled upon this wonderful hidden gem in the Nelson area. The rooms are comfortable with essential items provided. The manager was very helpful and friendly which made the trip very pleasant. The rustic setting with huge play area was perfect for the adults and the kids. The view from the hotel balcony and the gazebo was absolutely stunning.
It was a very relaxing and peaceful trip for us and we recommend this place for families with kids.

Room Tip: If you get the two bedrooms with the balcony..... try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Kokanee Glacier Resort was a nice surprise from what I had anticipated being that it's classified as a motel. It was very well kept. Had several areas to lounge outside comforatbly, including a gazebo (litup), a large raised deck, witha barbeque, and a childrens play area (toddler sized) with swings. The resort had its own private beach area just across the road, which was very serene. Also, its within city limits, so you can enjoy the scenic lake and mountain view, you can still order your favourite pizza!

For a family of four, this place was very accomodating. They even allowed us to bring our dog for an extra ten bucks...what a lifesaver!

We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AeonCrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great couple of nights here on our way across the country. It’s a lovely place with large, clean, well-appointed rooms. The owner/manager is very sweet and accommodating. Even though she does occasionally sound like Sarah Palin over the phone (You betcha!), ... it’s not her ... .

Room Tip: Don’t ask her if she can see Russia from her window ;-)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5scheidemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. The property is not brand new, but well kept up.
Lori, the manager, was very helpful and knowledgeable answering our questions about the area. We travel with 2 dachshunds and appreciated that this resort is dog friendly.
We did very little cooking, but I believe the kitchen was a bit understocked if you were to cook for more than 2 or 3.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Got the family room overlooking lake with kitchen and was very happy.store close beach across road,close to town.about half hour drive to the caves with awesome Hotsprings The owner was helpful on info about surrounding area and very friendly .will be back here again if on area .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millertravelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyJadeNelson, Owner at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of our property.
It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.
With so many activities just minutes from our door, there is never a shortage of exciting things to do the next time, and we are allways happy to help plan your next adventure.
Thanks again.

Amanda and Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
4.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokanee Glacier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Glacier Resort

Address: 2615 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kokanee Glacier Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking view of the Kootenay Lake, only an eight minute drive to the city of Nelson, and close to the Kokanee Glacier Park. The Kokanee Glacier Resort is an excellent starting point for exploring the best of the Kootenays. Comfortable air conditioned suites complete with private bedroom(s), kitchens and many other amenities make this the perfect family vacation destination, or just a great overnight visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kokanee Glacier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing