We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kokanee Glacier Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My friend and i had to find a place in a pinch when we were camping over the July 1st weekend, bears had come into our camping area and were ransacking the tents. we arrived late at night and Sean welcomed us warmly. He fund us a room and was most gracious in making sure everything was in good order. The only problem came when we pulled down the futon and the bed wouldn't stay level There was no other room so we managed with it as it was. I feel confident in the pride in their establishment that this matter was seen to quickly.

Breakfast the next morning in the sunflower room was delightful. All our needs were attended to and it was a delicious breakfast with many choices. The serving area, kitchen and dining area were spotlessly clean.

The funniest thing was that they had ball caps with a picture of a cinnamon bear embroidered on the front I bought one and can now point to the logo and say " This is where we stayed & this is why"

I would recommend the Kokanee Glacier resrt to anyone travelling in that area of BC

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I (and our dog) were warmly welcomed and made to feel quite at home. The kitchen suite was bright, spacious, clean, and did not look worn and tired as so many lodgings do. Suite rental included complimentary coffee in our room and a yummy continental breakfast in the dining room. There were plenty of grassy areas, with seating, for all three of us to relax with choices of shade or open sun and even a gas BBQ available to guests. A short walk across the road brings you to steps leading down to a public access beach area. The resort is about an 8 min. drive from the city centre of Nelson, which makes it very peaceful. It overlooks the lake, and provides a lovely view of Nelson lit-up after sunset. The added bonus was no mosquitoes while we enjoyed the evening sitting outside. Even our dog was more relaxed there than any other place we stayed at. Our next visit will be for a week!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our 2 bedroom suite was bright, clean and perfect for us and our two little dogs.
Management of the hotel was very friendly and accommodating.
The breakfast room was a wonderful way to meet the other guests and find out where they were from and how they were enjoying their vacations.
There was something for everyone layed out for breakfast and the breakfast staff were pleasant and helpful.
Our suite had a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains and it was very relaxing to just sit on our deck and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
We would not hesitate to recommend this Resort and will definitely return there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharronT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Kokanee Glacier Resort was a great place to stay. It is located just outside of Nelson BC and is beautifully situated with gorgeous views of mountains and water. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and the manager was most helpful in answering any questions we had about the area. The kitchen came with everything we needed to prepare our own food when we wanted to and that kept our expenses down. We rented kayaks from the resort and had a pleasant day on the water.
Nelson is beautiful town and I would recommend the Kokanee Resort to anyone looking for an affordable, get away from it all, vacation.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank NYCAWAAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyJadeNelson, Owner at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thanks for the nice comments guys, it was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in a variety of accommodation throughout the Canadian Rockies but as we were travelling with my parents we needed either 2 room units or B&B. We choose the Kokanee Glacier Resort as it provided 2-bed units and a kitchen. It was good value in that it was clean and quiet and the cost was very reasonable. Breakfast was provided (cereal, fruit, toast, tea/coffee, juice and make-your-own omelette). A little out of town, which we were aware of when booking. What we were disappointed with was that the resort is actually on the other side of the road from the lake. The website gallery photos imply that the resort is right on the lake and has a beach. It doesn't - there is a road and houses between the resort and the lake. We couldn't find the access to the beach as it is all residential housing on the opposite side of the road. That aside, I would recommend to families and groups looking for inexpensive accommodation - but make sure you pick up your groceries in town first! The small shop next door is great for bits you have forgotten but is a fairly small shop.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyJadeNelson, Owner at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our accomodation. We are very glad to hear that you were mostly satisfied with your stay with us.
It is unfourtunate but it sounds like you may have missed the beach across the road from us and been directed to the "six mile" beach instead that is in a small residential section a little ways down the road. To access the beach from our property you simply cross the road and walk down a small wooden step.

Yes, we do have pictures of the beach and lake on our website but it is not our intention to mislead anyone into thinking that we are a beachfront property but rather to let people know that our guests do have access to the beach.

As we are always looking for ways to improve our customer satisfaction, we thank you for your honest comments and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stumbled upon this listing in a booklet about the International Selkirk Loop. We made reservations, sight unseen. When we pulled off the Hwy., we were greeted by the sight of a small neat white office building surrounded by dozens of colorful flower beds and hanging baskets. Amanda Clay was at the desk and welcomed us with a big smile. We rented room 101 on the first floor ( there are two floors) that had two bedrooms, a full kitchen, spacious sitting room and private porch that looked out on the Kootenay Mts. and River. The view was sensational. The city of Nelson was nestled below in the Valley. The surrounding motel lawn was manicured and held Adirondack chairs for other guests to sit and enjoy the view. In back of the motel on beautiful lawn were picnic tables, childrens swings and play equipment and a gazebo. The second floor of the motel had an outside covered porch, chairs and tables. The room we had was immaculate and the kitchen complemented with dishes, silverware and cooking utensils. The whole hotel looked relatively new. If you do not bring your own hairdryer, you can ask for one at the desk.

The stay included a groaning board breakfast of omelet, yogurt, waffles, muffins, cereals, toast, beverages and seasonal fruit. We were offered cantaloupe, strawberries, grapefruit, oranges and watermelon, all beautifully cut up and arranged on platters.

The city of Nelson was only 6 miles from the motel and a place we decided we could live. The shops were great and the park down by the river included a beach. We had a very good lunch at the Park Street Grill.

If we did not live so far (Florida), we would happily go back to this delightful spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne32765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here for three days and were pleased with the friendly service, clean and well kept room, reasonable price, and far enough from the main road that noise wasn't a problem. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotting_Canuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
5.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
722 reviews
6.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
6 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokanee Glacier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Glacier Resort

Address: 2615 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kokanee Glacier Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking view of the Kootenay Lake, only an eight minute drive to the city of Nelson, and close to the Kokanee Glacier Park. The Kokanee Glacier Resort is an excellent starting point for exploring the best of the Kootenays. Comfortable air conditioned suites complete with private bedroom(s), kitchens and many other amenities make this the perfect family vacation destination, or just a great overnight visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kokanee Glacier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing