We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Pleasure to stroll along!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baker Street

Baker Street
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a Pleasure to stroll along!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just a beautiful street! So many unique shops and very pleasant people. So laid back and relaxing. There is so much history in Nelson and old buildings to view and admire. This one of my favorite things to do in Nelson, walk up and down Baker Street! A must for anyone visiting Nelson.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Okanagangang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    85
    27
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Living in Nelson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have lived in Nelson a long time, raised our children here, and made many friends through the years! Working in Retail on Baker Street for almost twenty years, I've met many fine folk who were not only customers, but became good friends, too.
Walking along Baker Street,one can meet and chat up many nice people by first offering a smile or a friendly hello and end up going for coffee/tea in many great and varied establishments along the street.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Earplugs please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love the unique shops and places to eat but the amount of people who are trying to make money by singing or playing music is getting to be a bit much. Also trying to enjoy a sandwich when a dirty smelly wanna be hippy is sitting at the next table really spoiled an otherwise tasty lunch

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“baker street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Unlike a lot of small towns around 10,000 people Baker Street in Nelson Bc is very avant guard. Many beautiful shops, many old time shops, and the town has won the heritage award for consistent architecture. For four months of the year it is warm and sunny, often above 80 degrees and there are outside patio restaurants, many many excellent places to eat, and the beauty of the lake and surrounding mountains is breathtaking. There is the old time sorta 'hippy' element that ads to the charm of a unique and wonderful place to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank juliasauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Love Baker Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great Place to Walk, many quaint shops and things to see. Kids loved the old fashioned candy store and we loved the coffee shops. Also the only RBC in the Valley!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Street also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing