We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dependably fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Landing West Coast Grill - CLOSED

The Landing West Coast Grill
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dependably fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent service, adequate menu choice but not "all things to all people", appropriate pricing, well paced service, ocean view (mud flats at low tide), tables placed with good space in between.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    46
    19
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville BC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great place to bring visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Super view of the ocean from the front windows. Two huge aquariums with local ocean fish to fascinate kids (of ALL ages). And to top it all off - very well prepared food. We often bring visiting guests here for lunch as the entrees are well done and well served with a bit of flair. This is a CLASS restaurant without huge prices - in fact, very reasonable prices. Servings are ample but not gut-busting plate overlapping. Just right for lunches (the only meals we have had there).

Servers are well trained to look after their customers as we found them to be prompt, courteous, and eager to please.

Been here at least six times in the past year and have not had a bad experience yet.

Worth the visit at all times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viking46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrific Brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I wanted a meal with a view, and remembered this place. We for seated right by a window with a gorgeous unobstructed view of the ocean. I had a really good latte! We both had Eggs Benedict for our meal, mine with proscuitto and his with salmon. Both were on really yummy home made cheese scones. So good!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had an 8:00pm reservation on Valentines Day and were shown to our seat within moments of arriving. We were told we had the best seat in the house and it was apparent that if it had been daytime that it would have had a spectacular view. The fish tank is incredible and is the main focal point in the restaurant. They had a special Valentines Day menu for the evening and you were not able to order off of the regular menu. For $59 your received a four course meal with a many choices for each course. I chose the crab and salmon cakes , the tomato bisque, The filet mignon wrapped in bacon and the chocolate trio for dessert. My boyfriend had the pork spring rolls, the tomato bisque, the grill which was a steak, lamb chop and ribs and he he let the waiter choose his dessert which was the cashew pecan tart with vanilla ice-cream.

The seafood cakes were good but all I could taste was the salmon with no hint of crab. I tried my boyfriends spring roll and the taste was there but the pork was a little on the dry side. Neither of us were fond of the tomato bisque. It was very acidic and we each only had a few spoonfuls before we set it aside. Our main course was delicious. The meat was cooked to perfection and the accompaniments were excellent . Both desserts were amazing. The chocolate creme brulee was the best I have ever had and I would go back just to have that again.
It was a pleasant atmosphere and we received exceptional service. I would without hesitation recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great scenery inside and out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived 'between menu change' on Sunday, however the staff seated us, we ordered appies until the dinner menu was available and then we ordered from that menu. There is a good selection on the menu, however its alot of seafood. i cant bring one of my friends who is a very fussy eater and who has an extremely plain palate and doesn't like seafood, the choice for her is non existent. so a heads up if you have a member of your party like this, it wouldn't be a good pick. as always the fish tanks were talk of the table. Ill certainly be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xaphinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing West Coast Grill also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing