We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety of family fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bugsys Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Bugsys Bar and Grill
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good variety of family fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took my two teenage nephews here for a late lunch. Three out of the four people required gluten-free food and our server, Marvin, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with selections.
Servings are generous and there is a wide variety of choices.
The enclosed patio is a wonderful place to sit on a summer day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal in years.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Oyster sampler - horrid, overcooked and greasy. Couldn't eat more than one bite of the lamb. Chemical taste like windex. Slow as molasses.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
“First time, Last time !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you'd like to have a diner in that place, just make a U turn and go far away from that restaurant!!!
We had a diner in August, and I can say that this was the worst evening I spent in Canada during one month of vacation.
The person who was serving us said yes to my requests, but in fact was not taking them into account at all.
We had a big surprise with the bill, much more expensive than expected due the their price policy related to the "Make your own pizza" menu!! Forget this option !!!
The food was very low quality, the seafood platter was the worst ever !
My wife took a simple salad...that's the only thing they seem to be doing quite OK.
Well, a very very very bad experience and I would NOT recommend this restaurant AT ALL!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 720epicurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cowichan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for excellent service and great value, Try "Bugsy's Bar and Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Recently our family had a reunion in Parksville. There were 14 of us wanting to get a breakfast
on the day of our departure from Parksville. We decided to try "Bugsy's Bar and Grill. Our group decided to have the smorg . So glad that we did. We had an excellent meal and we all left saying that we would return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great choice for a late evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We rolled into Parksville around 9:15 PM on a Thursday night in late June. By the time we had checked into our hotel and were ready to have supper, it was close to 10:00 PM. We tried several places and all were closed or done serving food. A couple of the servers we talked to described Parksville as a sleepy retirement community that shuts down early even during tourist season, so food choices are limited late in the evening.

After being turned away at a few places, the GPS had Bugsy's as a nearby suggestion, so we decided to try it. We're very glad we did.

We arrived 15 minutes before they finished serving for the evening and there was only one other booth in the restaurant that was occupied, so we were a little skeptical about what we were going to get. Our server (Amelia) was friendly and attentive. We ordered the Muffaleta pizza and it was excellent. We had enough to take a couple pieces back to our hotel and it was great reheated the next day. Even ordering a large pizza with a couple drinks from the bar, it was one of the least expensive meals we ate on the island.

The decor in the restaurant portion is 1920's prohibition, and my girlfriend was impressed by the quality of several of the graphite drawings on the walls. I don't think either of us visited the restrooms, but the bar and restaurant were both clean and well-maintained.

If you're in the Parksville/Qualicum Beach area early in the evening, you have lots of choices for dining. Even with other competition, I think Bugsy's is a good choice. As the evening wears on, it rises higher and higher on the list. I always like to try new places so I'll probably try someplace else the next time I'm in the Parksville area, but I would have no qualms about recommending Bugsy's as a fine place to eat, especially as a good late night choice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugsys Bar and Grill also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing